Five Bear players honored by ASBN

Posted: Thursday, October 02, 2003

Five Juneau-Douglas High School football players were named to the 2003 Alaska Sports Broadcasting Network's All-Cook Inlet Football Conference Team, which was released Tuesday.

The all-star team honors the top players in the Cook Inlet Football Conference, as selected by the staff members and game announcers for ASBN. The network broadcast 20 CIFC games on KINY AM-800 radio in Juneau and on KTZN AM-550 radio in Anchorage this season.

Senior wide receiver Casey Flair of East Anchorage was named the offensive player of the year, while defensive tackle Stephan Martinez of Chugiak earned defensive player of the year honors. Roger Spackman of East Anchorage was named the coach of the year.

The five Juneau players on the team were junior running back Brian Felix, junior offensive lineman Jake Ritter, senior defensive lineman Toni Talamai, senior defensive back C.J. Keys and senior punter Mark Shilling. All five players also see action at other positions for the Crimson Bears.

The CIFC coaches will select their all-CIFC team later this month, and the first-team all-CIFC selections will be eligible for all-state honors. The all-state team will be selected after the state playoffs are over.

Juneau hosts Dimond in the opening round of the state playoffs at 7 p.m. Saturday at Adair-Kennedy Memorial Park.


The players selected to the 2003 Alaska Sports Broadcasting Network's All-Cook Inlet Football Conference Team, announced on Tuesday.

Offensive player of the year - Casey Flair, wide receiver, East Anchorage.

Defensive player of the year - Stephan Martinez, defensive tackle, Chugiak.

Coach of the year - Roger Spackman, East Anchorage.


Quarterback - Derek Laws, East Anchorage.

Running back - Remy Martin, West Anchorage; Jake Staser, Service; Brian Felix, Juneau-Douglas.

Offensive line - Keith Wagoner, Chugiak; Jake Ritter, Juneau-Douglas; Mike Kasper, Dimond; Hunter Joy, East Anchorage.

Center - Paul Sulunga, West Anchorage.

Tight end - James Maloney, West Anchorage.

Wide receiver - Casey Flair, East Anchorage; Anthony Jones, Service.


Defensive line - Cardell Cole, Bartlett; Marcus Harris, West Anchorage; Tonga Tea, East Anchorage; Toni Talamai, Juneau-Douglas.

Linebacker - Joe Lyman, East Anchorage; Luke Ayer, Dimond; Ryan Holmquist, West Anchorage; Jose Soto, Service.

Defensive back - Nathan Sperry, Chugiak; C.J. Keys, Juneau-Douglas; Darrel Pilcher, Dimond; Piliki Mapauni, West Anchorage.


Punter - Mark Shilling, Juneau-Douglas.

Kicker - J.P. Sundquist, Service.

Kick returner - Nick Holman, West Anchorage.

Punt returner - V.J. Mobley, Service.

Utility player - Darrell Pilcher, Dimond.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us