Crimson Bears earn top CIFC honors

Juneau's Fairchild, Campbell, Richey earn special awards

Posted: Thursday, October 04, 2001

The Juneau-Douglas High School football team enjoyed some of the spoils of their first Cook Inlet Football Conference title as the Crimson Bears claimed three of the six special honors during the all-CIFC voting and coaches' meeting held Wednesday night at East Anchorage High School.

Senior quarterback Brett Fairchild was named the offensive player of the year, senior offensive/defensive lineman Zac Campbell was chosen lineman of the year and head coach Reilly Richey earned CIFC head coach of the year honors. The Crimson Bears posted a 7-1 overall record (5-1 in the CIFC) and they earned the right to host their first home state playoff game, against the defending state champion Dimond Lynx at 7 p.m. Saturday at Adair-Kennedy Memorial Park.

Fairchild earned the honor after passing for 1,165 yards and 11 touchdowns in the regular season.

"Brett is an incredible leader," said Dimond coach Duncan Shackelford told the Anchorage Daily News. "He is one of the mentally toughest kids I've seen. I think he takes more pleasure out of throwing a block on a toss (run) than he does completing a pass."

Campbell earned first-team all-CIFC honors on the offensive line and was a second-team choice on the defensive line. Richey earned his second CIFC head coach of the year honor in three seasons.

The other special awards went to Bartlett linebacker Justin Dailey, who was named defensive player of the year honors; Dimond wide receiver-running back-defensive back Joe Chirhart, who was voted utility player of the year; and Bartlett assistant coach John Lewis, who was voted the CIFC assistant coach of the year.

Bartlett led the conference in first-team selections with nine, followed by Chugiak with eight and Juneau-Douglas with seven.

Juneau's first-team selections were Fairchild at quarterback, Jacob Dutton at wide receiver, Jake Miller at tight end, Campbell at offensive tackle, Sione Tupou at linebacker, Willy Dodd at defensive back and Lee Sullivan at kicker.

The only first-team players to win spots at more than one position were Chugiak senior Thomas McMichael at center and linebacker and Bartlett junior Zack Bowman at defensive back and kick returner.

Earning second-team honors for Juneau were Tupou at fullback, Justin Rasmussen at offensive guard, Bret Russell at center, Campbell and Russell at defensive interior line and Bret West at linebacker.


Results of Wednesday's balloting by Cook Inlet Football Conference coaches for the season's all-CIFC honors.


Offensive player of the year -- Brett Fairchild, Juneau-Douglas.

Defensive player of the year -- Justin Dailey, Bartlett.

Lineman of the year -- Zac Campbell, Juneau-Douglas.

Utility player of the year -- Joe Chirhart, Dimond.

Head coach of the year -- Reilly Richey, Juneau-Douglas.

Assistant coach of the year -- John Lewis, Bartlett.

All-Cook Inlet Football Conference Teams

First team


Running back -- Tyler Blewett, Bartlett; Boaz Gionson, Bartlett; Ryan Ersland, Service; Jared Solberg, West Anchorage.

Fullback -- Jake Staser, Service.

Quarterback -- Brett Fairchild, Juneau-Douglas.

Wide receiver -- Jacob Dutton, Juneau-Douglas; George Lochner, Chugiak.

Tight end -- Jake Miller, Juneau-Douglas.

Tackle -- Mike McKewon, Bartlett; Zac Campbell, Juneau-Douglas; Mitch Carey, West Anchorage.

Guard -- Sloan Green, Bartlett; Tyler Glenn, Chugiak; Travis Pippin, Service.

Center -- Thomas McMichael, Chugiak.


Defensive end -- Bryan Lance, Chugiak; Auno Filoialii, East Anchorage.

Interior line -- Raymond Parks, Bartlett; Keenan Laird, Dimond; Willi Pili, East Anchorage; Stephen Martinez, Chugiak.

Linebacker -- Justin Dailey, Bartlett; Thomas McMichael, Chugiak, Chad Adams, Dimond; Nick Fuhr, Service; Jeff Smiley, Chugiak; Sione Tupou, Juneau-Douglas.

Defensive back -- Zack Bowman, Bartlett; Joe Chirhart, Dimond; Willy Dodd, Juneau-Douglas; Tim Hehnlin, Chugiak.


Kicker -- Lee Sullivan, Juneau-Douglas.

Punter -- Colin Olito, West Anchorage.

Kick returner -- Zack Bowman, Bartlett.

Long snapper -- Greg Marlow, Bartlett.

Second team


Running back -- Brett Denton, Dimond; Michael John, Chugiak; Brad Lozano, Chugiak.

Fullback -- Sione Tupou, Juneau-Douglas.

Quarterback -- Tim Hehnlin, Chugiak.

Wide receiver -- Joe Chirhart, Dimond; Ski Davis, West Anchorage.

Tight end -- Nick Fuhr, Service.

Tackle -- Ty Clapper, Dimond; Jeremy Gronos, Chugiak.

Guard -- Michael Johnson, Dimond; Justin Rasmussen, Juneau-Douglas; Paul Ingram, West Anchorage.

Center -- Bret Russell, Juneau-Douglas.


Defensive end -- Ty Clapper, Dimond; Bryan Jones, Service.

Interior line -- Tom Vickney, Chugiak; Patrick Kelley, East; Zac Campbell, Juneau-Douglas; Bret Russell, Juneau-Douglas.

Linebacker -- Levant Logo, East Anchorage; Bret West, Juneau-Douglas; James Murphy, West Anchorage; Jesse Spillman, Bartlett; Chris McMullen, Dimond, Tui Muai, East Anchorage.

Defensive back -- Dustin Grimes, Service; Chris Stovall, Dimond; Junior Faaaliga, East Anchorage; Jared Solberg, West Anchorage.


Kicker -- Chris James, Chugiak.

Punter -- Brandon Joseph, Dimond.

Long snapper -- Jeff Smiley, Chugiak.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us