Consortium to host 'Just Move It' activities Saturday

Posted: Sunday, October 04, 2009

SITKA - The SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium Health Promotion, Diabetes and Lifestyle Balance programs will host the second annual "Just Move It" day of activities on Saturday, Oct. 10, in five communities throughout the region.

People attending Juneau's Dimond Park Walk will meet from 1 to 5 p.m. Saturday at the Dimond Park Field House to walk or run around the indoor track. participants record laps and each lap earns a ticket for prize drawings. Transportation will be available to take people from the Alaska Native Brotherhood and Sisterhood Grand Camp to this event. Contact Rocky Plotnick at 364-4452 or rocky.plotnick@searhc.org.

A variety of free community walking events will take place in Haines, Juneau, Angoon, Kake and Klawock. Sitka will host a Just Move It event in the spring. The events are part of the national Just Move It campaign to promote healthy physical activity for American Indians and Alaska Natives, but they are open to all members of the community. The Just Move It events also serve as an early preview of American Diabetes Month in November.

Brief descriptions and contact information for the Oct. 10 events follow. All events are open to the general public.

Angoon - Angoon Walking For Diabetes, meet at 1 p.m. at the Angoon City Shop, contact Doreen McCluskey at 907-788-4637 or doreen.mccluskey@searhc.org, or contact Lenora Walker at 907-788-4632 or lenora.walker@searhc.org.

Haines - Totem to Totem Walk, meet at 10 a.m. at Haines Borough School Friendship Pole for a walking loop around town that will end back at the school, contact Mandy Ramsey at 907-766-6317 or mandy.ramsey@searhc.org.

Kake - Totem to Totem Walk, meet at 1 p.m. at the world's tallest totem on the hill (next to the SEARHC Kake Health Center) and walk down the hill to the Kake Tribal Totem Pole, refreshments after the event, contact Georgie Davis-Gastelum at 907-785-6516 or georgie.reese@searhc.org.

Klawock - Community Walk from Klawock School to Veteran's Memorial Ballpark and back, meet at 1 p.m. at the Klawock School gym, refreshments, door prizes, free reflectors and registration for a 10,000-step program after the event, contact June May at 907-755-4959 or june.may@searhc.org.

Sitka - Just Move It event type, location and time TBA this spring, contact Renae Mathson at 907-966-8797 or renae.mathson@searhc.org, or contact Erin Rofkar at 907-966-8799 or erin.rofkar@searhc.org.



CONTACT US

  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING