Voters elect new mayors in Skagway, Kake

Kake also approves 8 percent bed tax

Posted: Friday, October 05, 2001

Skagway and Kake each got a new mayor, and taxes were approved in Hoonah and Kake, in Tuesday's municipal elections in Southeast.

Here's a roundup from six municipalities in the northern Panhandle:


Fisherman Al Duncan Sr. was the top vote-getter in city Assembly races, winning a three-year seat along with incumbent Thor Christianson, who finished second.

In the unofficial results, third-place finisher Frank Richards has an 18-vote lead over Lawrence Blood, in competition for a one-year Assembly seat. Absentee and questioned ballots will be counted Monday, said City Clerk Colleen Pellett.

There were six candidates for the three areawide seats. Incumbents Denny Pearson and Phil Burdick did not seek re-election.

In advisory questions on the ballot, voters rejected a proposed ban on the use of cell phones while operating motorized vehicles, and narrowly approved a new traffic light.

In binding propositions, voters rejected sales taxes and general obligation bonds to construct a recreation complex.


Tim Bourcy won the mayoral election, defeating Jan Nelson for the seat being vacated by John Mielke. The mayor has a two-year term.

Incumbent Council member Dan Henry and Mike Korsmo defeated three other candidates for three-year seats on the panel. Council member Stan Selmer did not seek re-election.

Voters also directed city officials to research the construction and operation of a swimming pool, said City Clerk Marj Harris.


City Council incumbents Kristine Skaflestad and Nadine Morrison and challenger Liv Gray won the three two-year seats on the ballot, placing within 11 votes of each other. Incumbent Natalia Hinchman finished last among six candidates, said City Clerk Georgina Glover.

Voters also overwhelmingly approved a five-year extension of the 1 percent sales tax that has funded the William and Mary Johnson Youth Center.


There were few candidates and few write-in votes, and no ballot propositions this year, said City Clerk Francine Willis.

City Council incumbents Peter Jack Sr. and Ed Gamble Sr. were re-elected to three-year terms. Jack was unopposed; Gamble defeated Matilda Gamble.


Paul Reese defeated Henrich Kadake Sr. in the mayoral race and will serve a two-year term. Incumbent Lonnie Anderson did not seek re-election.

Kadake, Delbert Kadake and Lloyd Davis, all City Council incumbents, won re-election without opposition. They will serve two-year terms. City ordinances allowed Henrich Kadake Sr. to run simultaneously for mayor and Council, said City Clerk Christine Aceveda.

Voters also overwhelmingly approved a proposition establishing an 8 percent bed tax on all lodging in the city. It will be effective Jan. 1, Aceveda said.


Mayor Kathie Wasserman apparently won another three-year term, by a 39-23 vote over Council member Patricia Phillips. There were 17 absentee ballots remaining to be counted.

The city could be faced with a vacancy on the Council, as only three candidates filed for four seats: two full three-year terms and two one-year positions to fill unexpired terms due to resignations.

Appointed incumbent Patty Hammell was the top vote-getter with 53, winning a three-year term. Jay Brauch and former Council member Harold R. Allard were tied 34-34. If counting of absentee and questioned ballots doesn't break the tie, the candidates probably will draw cards for the other three-year term, with the loser getting a one-year term, said City Clerk Betty McClain.

There were five write-in votes each for Verne Young, Keith Heller and Mary Lou Strahm, creating a three-way tie for fourth place. But candidates are supposed to get 40 percent of the vote in order to be elected, McClain said. As a result, the remaining position might have to be filled by appointment, an unusual circumstance, she said.

Bill McAllister can be reached at

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us