Voters head to the polls

Polls open until 8 p.m. for mayoral, Assembly and School Board races

Posted: Tuesday, October 07, 2003

Voters get to choose a new mayor, select Assembly members and pick from a dozen Juneau School Board candidates in today's general election. Voters also will decide whether to approve $6.9 million in bonds for school repairs and doubling the city's tobacco tax.

For mayor, voters will choose between Bruce Botelho, 55, a former Juneau mayor and state attorney general; Dick Knapp, 74, a commissioned Coast Guard officer and former state Department of Transportation commissioner; or write-in candidate Michael Christenson, 42, an assistant administrator at Juneau Alliance for Mental Health Inc.

The Assembly race pits incumbent Dale Anderson, a 54-year-old financial consultant at Smith Barney, against Dan Peterson, a 21-year-old student at University of Alaska Southeast, for the District 2 seat. David Stone, 46, a spokesman for Alaska Electric Light & Power, is running uncontested for the Assembly District 1 seat.

Mayoral and Assembly winners will take office Oct. 27.

For the School Board, 12 candidates are vying for five seats. Alan Schorr, a 12-year school board veteran, and board president Chuck Cohen are seeking re-election. The 10 newcomers are Phyllis Carlson, 53, a program manager for educational programs; Sam Guthrie, 39, a finance program analyst for the Coast Guard's civil engineering unit; Lee Kadinger, 23, an assistant wrestling coach at Juneau-Douglas High School; Bill Burk, 57, a taxi driver with a master's degree in special education; Andrea "Andi" Story, 44, a JDHS site-council member; Megan Mayron, 27, who's employed at the Alaska State Hospital and Nursing Home Association; Bill Peters, 37, vice president for Alaska USA Federal Credit Union; Rhonda Befort, 31, who is employed by Arbitre Consulting; Julie Morris, 43, special assistant to the director for the state Division of Public Assistance; and Dave Williams, 52, administrator of the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services.

Three of the five School Board seats are for the traditional three-year terms. The three top vote-getters get those seats. The fourth seat is for two years to complete an unexpired term. The candidate finishing fifth would serve one year to fill an unexpired term.

The tobacco proposition asks residents whether they want to double the excise tax on cigarettes to 30 cents per pack and double other tobacco products to 12 percent. The school proposition asks voters whether they want to pay $6.945 million in general revenue bonds to make improvements at Floyd Dryden Middle School and Harborview Elementary School.

Mayor Sally Smith is not seeking re-election. Assembly member Ken Koelsch is not seeking re-election for District 1. The mayor's job pays $30,000 a year and each Assembly seat pays $6,000 annually. The mayor and Assembly seats are each three-year terms.

The polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Results are expected at about 8:30 p.m. at Election Central at Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School, according to Deputy City Clerk Beth McEwen. Residents who need to find their polling place can call the polling place locator number at 1 (888) 383-8683 and input their social security number to learn the correct polling place.

The public can read the poll results at tonight as the results become available.

• Tara Sidor can be reached at

Where to vote

The following are the precinct polling places for the Oct. 7 city election:

• Douglas: Douglas Library, 1016 Third St.

• North Douglas: Juneau Fire Station, 820 Glacier Ave.

• Juneau No. 1: Juneau Assembly Chambers, 155 S. Seward St.

• Juneau No. 2: Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, 325 Gold St.

• Juneau No. 3: Juneau Senior Center, 895 W. 12th St.

• Juneau No. 4: Cedar Park, 3414 Foster Ave.

• Juneau Airport: Nugget Mall, 8745 Glacier Hwy.

• Lemon Creek: AEL&P, 5601 Tonsgard Ct.

• Salmon Creek: Wildflower Court, Hospital Drive, behind Bartlett Regional Hospital.

• Switzer Creek: Alaska Marine Highway administration building, 6858 Glacier Hwy.

• Mendenhall No. 1: Mendenhall Mall, 9109 Mendenhall Mall Rd.

• Mendenhall No. 2: Carrs-Safeway, 3033 Vintage Blvd.

• Mendenhall No. 3: Glacier Valley Baptist Church, 3921 Mendenhall Loop Rd.

• Mendenhall No. 4: Shepherd of the Valley Lutheran Church, 4212 Mendenhall Loop Rd.

• Auke Bay: Auke Bay Fire Hall, 11900 Glacier Hwy.

• Lynn Canal: Auke Bay Ferry Terminal, Mile 13.8 Glacier Hwy.

To figure out which polling place to use, call the city clerk, 586-5278.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us