SEARHC honors advocates

Posted: Thursday, October 07, 2010

SITKA - Community wellness advocates were honored Monday night for the work they've done making Sitka a healthier place to live. The awards were presented during the fourth annual Sitka Health Summit community dessert and awards ceremony, held Oct. 4 at Harrigan Centennial Hall.

The vision for the summit is for Sitka "to serve our great state as a model for community wellness by creating a healthy community where Sitkans strive for and enjoy a high quality of life." These awards honor community members who already have been living within this vision. The winners have done work in seven categories -physical activity, nutrition, tobacco prevention and control, injury prevention, holistic health, employee and worksite wellness and general wellness.

Community members were asked to nominate people who made a difference or served as role models in one of the categories, and an awards committee from the summit decided on the final recipients. Also, a special award, called the Steve Reifenstuhl Award, was created in 2008 to honor a local athlete for his or her commitment to physical fitness and for being an extraordinarily active community wellness role model.

Winners included: Physical Activity - Bill Hughes and Ann Marie LaPalme; Nutrition - Kari Sagel, Kerry McAdams and Elvia Torres and Lori Adams; Tobacco Prevention and Control - Andrea Thomas; Injury Prevention and Safety - U.S. Coast Guard-Air Station Sitka, Becky Charlton; Holistic Health - Mount Edgecumbe High School Yup'ik Dance Group; Employee and Worksite Wellness - Melissa Henshaw, Brenda Calkins and Elisabeth Crane; General Wellness - New Archangel Dancers, Marcie Paden; The Steve Reifenstuhl Award - Dave Nevins.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us