Governor's 2001 awards announced

Posted: Thursday, October 11, 2001

Walter Soboleff of Juneau is among those recognized this year for the 2001 Governor's Arts and Humanities Awards.

The annual awards acknowledge the contribution of arts scholars, artists and arts organizations to the people of Alaska. In recent years the awards have been extended to the humanities as well. Soboloff, a Tlingit elder, has been recognized as a distinguished humanities scholar along with Michael Krauss and the Alaska Native Language Center of Fairbanks.

Award winners will be honored at a celebration and dinner Oct. 25 at the Fourth Avenue Theater in Anchorage. The Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Humanities Forum select the honorees. They include:

The Fairbanks Arts Association for arts advocacy; The Alaska Junior Theater for arts education; The Anchorage Symphony as an outstanding arts organization; The Sitka Daily Sentinel for business leadership; Mike McDonald as an outstanding individual artist.

Esther Shea won the Margaret Nick Cooke Award for Alaska Native Arts and Language; Dixie Alexander was honored as a Native artist; Gloria Marinacci Allen was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award; Carolyn Servid of the Island Institute in Sitka and Anchorage author and anthropologist Ann FeinupRiordan were honored as distinguished humanities educators; BP Exploration was honored for outstanding support of the humanities and Jesuit Priest Father Rene Astruc of Mountain Village and The Alaska Native Heritage Cultural Committees were recognized as friends of the humanities.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us