4 members reappointed to ferry board

Posted: Monday, October 11, 2010

Gov. Sean Parnell has reappointed four members of the Marine Transportation Advisory Board, which advises officials on operations of the state ferry system.

Parnell reappointed Robert Venables, John (Mark) Eliason, Mike Korsmo and Shirley Marquardt to the 11-member board.

Venables, of Haines, is the energy coordinator for the Southeast Conference. Formerly, he served as the Haines Borough manager, as the economic development director for the City of Haines and on the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce board of directors. Venables is reappointed as a representative of northern Southeast Alaska.

Eliason, of Anchorage, is the president and owner of USTravel LLC, and was reappointed to a seat reserved for a travel agent or tourism specialist familiar with AMHS reservation systems.

Korsmo, of Skagway, is a captain and engineer for Amak Towing. He is serving as chair of the board for a second year. Korsmo was reappointed to a seat reserved for a marine captain or engineer not affiliated with the AMHS.

Marquardt is mayor of Unalaska, and was reappointed as a representative of southwest Alaska, the Aleutian Chain and the Alaska Peninsula.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us