On the move

Posted: Tuesday, October 17, 2000

Huna Totem names new officer: Samuel J. Furuness, former chief financial officer for Huna Totem Corp., has been promoted to chief operating officer. Furuness, 31, had been chief financial officer of the Juneau-based company since 1997. In his new position, he will have more responsibility for the day-to-day management of the corporation and will have authority over the operations and investment transactions, in addition to his chief financial officer duties. Furuness, a graduate of Juneau-Douglas High School who was born and raised in Juneau, holds a bachelor's degree in accounting from Pepperdine University.

Huna Totem Corp. is an Alaska Native village corporation with primary business interests in investment portfolio management and commercial real estate. Revenues for the year that ended Dec. 31, 1999, were $5.2 million.

Kelly named to credit union board: Sharon Kelly, president of Alaska State Employees Federal Credit Union, headquartered in Juneau, has been elected chairman of the Alaska Credit Union League board of directors. Also elected were vice chair, Leslie Ellis, president of Credit Union 1 headquartered in Anchorage; treasurer, Billie Blanchard, president of Fort Wainwright Federal Credit Union in Fairbanks; and secretary, Phil Morrow, board member of Alaska District Engineers Federal Credit Union.

The Alaska Credit Union League is the trade association for all Alaska credit unions and their 300,000 members.

SEARHC wins awards: Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium's Juneau Clinic pharmacists have received two of this year's national service awards from the National Indian Health Board. One of the awards was given to SEARHC pharmacist David Moeny. The other was presented collectively to all four Juneau clinic pharmacists: Teresa Bruce, Dan Hasenfang, Rod McKinzie and Moeny. The two awards were among 17 Local Impact Awards presented by the health board.

The board recognized Moeny for his part in securing a federal grant to test and treat sexually transmitted diseases at the SEARHC clinic. The second award recognized the entire pharmacy staff for "continuing to provide high quality care at time of decreasing Native health care funding."

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us