State soliciting logo for 50th

Emblem will be used exclusively in merchandise, events of the celebration

Posted: Monday, October 17, 2005

One lucky artist will have a work circulating the state for at least the next four years.

The Alaska Statehood Celebration Commission, in conjunction with the Alaska State Council on the Arts, is soliciting designs for a logo to commemorate the 50th anniversary of statehood in Alaska.

The contest is open to all ages. The winner will not be paid, but the logo will be used exclusively in all merchandise and events related to the celebration.

"The state belongs to all of us, and we wanted to make sure everyone had a chance to participate in this," said Statehood Commission chairperson Gail Phillips. "This can be anybody's interpretation of what our 50th birthday should represent. There's no limits on what can be submitted. We're hoping that we get entries from all walks of life."

The state is planning a number of anniversary festivities in 2008, with a finale on Jan. 3. 2009. Alaska was granted statehood on Jan. 3, 1959.

The winning logo will become the property of the State of Alaska and will not be used without the consent of the commission.

"We're intending to use it everywhere in the state," Phillips said. "We'll be putting out a lot of material using the logo on cruise ships and ferries. Some grocery stores may print the logo on their bags. We're hoping that we'll get one of the major airlines to put the design on one of their airplanes. And maybe we'll put it on a railroad car."

Logo entries must be on a sheet of paper no larger than 8 1/2-by-11 inches, and must be scalable and reproducible. Each entry must contain a color design and a paragraph explaining the concept.

For a copy of the entry form, go to, call Patti at (907) 269-8492 or visit the Alaska State Council on the Arts in Anchorage, (888) 278-7424.

Entries are due Monday, Oct. 31, two weeks from today.

The designs will be scrutinized by a seven-member panel, including Nancy Murkowski. Five designs will be chosen and submitted to the Statehood Commission, which hopes to make a final decision before the end of November.

The nine-member Statehood Commission includes chairperson Gail Phillips, Rep. Tom Anderson, Rep. David Guttenberg, Sen. Donald C. Olson, Sen. Gary L. Stevens, Christopher Constant of Anchorage, Leo Rasmussen of Nome, Cherie Solie of Fairbanks; and Juneau's Kate Tesar.

• Korry Keeker can be reached at

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us