New assemblywomen sworn in

Posted: Sunday, October 17, 2010

The City and Borough of Juneau's newest Assembly members were sworn in Friday afternoon.

Michael Penn / Juneau Empire
Michael Penn / Juneau Empire

Karen Crane and Mary Becker took their oaths of office, agreeing to follow the federal and state constitutions and the laws of the U.S., Alaska and Juneau. City Attorney John Hartle determined that Assemblyman Johan Dybdahl, who ran for re-election unopposed, remained sworn.

The assembled crowd, which consisted largely of city staff, clapped for Assemblyman Randy Wanamaker as he stepped down from his seat. Assemblyman Jeff Bush was absent Friday. Mayor Bruce Botelho said Bush and Wanamaker would be honored at a future meeting when both could be present.

The assembly unanimously approved appointing Assemblyman Merrill Sanford as the new deputy mayor. Wanamaker had filled that role.

Assembly committee and liaison assignments were also approved Friday.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us