Lehauli named CIFC's top utility player in '04

Posted: Tuesday, October 19, 2004

During the football season, Juneau-Douglas High School junior Josh Lehauli lined up at fullback, caught passes as a receiver, played linebacker, punted and returned punts for the Crimson Bears.

That versatility earned Lehauli the All-Cook Inlet Football Conference Team's Utility Player of the Year award after CIFC coaches voted on Thursday night in Anchorage.

Chugiak quarterback Cory Wardrope earned the conference's Offensive Player of the Year award, while West Anchorage linebacker Ryan Holmquist won the conference's Defensive Player of the Year award. West Anchorage offensive tackle-defensive end Matt Baxter won the Lineman of the Year award, while West Anchorage's Bob Garman won the Head Coach of the Year award after leading his undefeated team to a berth in the state championship game.

Lehauli also earned second-team honors at linebacker, one of several Crimson Bears to win position awards.

Senior Jake Ritter earned two first-team awards to lead the state semifinalist Crimson Bears, making the offensive team at tackle and the defensive squad at linebacker.

Also named to the first-team offense were senior guard Jesse Vaughn and senior running back Brian Felix. Senior Alika Bradley made the first-team defense as an interior lineman and senior C.J. Keys made the squad as a defensive back.

The players earning first-team all-conference spots are eligible to be considered for the all-state team, which will be decided later this month.

Earning a spot on the second-team offense was Keys, while joining Lehauli on defense were Felix at defensive back and senior Mychal Hutcherson at defensive end. Junior Dylan Ashe made the second team as kicker.

Earning spots on the honorable mention offense were Bradley at center, Hutcherson at tight end, sophomore Chris Hinkley at quarterback and junior Angelo Katasse at wide receiver. Vaughn earned an honorable mention at defensive end, while Keys earned an honorable mention at kick returner.



Members of the All-Cook Inlet Football Conference Team as selected by a panel of coaches on Thursday night in Anchorage. The players named to the first team all-CIFC team are eligible to be considered for the All-State Team, which will be announced later this month.


Offensive Player of the Year - Cory Wardrope, Chugiak.

Defensive Player of the Year - Ryan Holmquist, West Anchorage.

Lineman of the Year - Matt Baxter, West Anchorage.

Utility Player of the Year - Josh Lehauli, Juneau-Douglas.

Head Coach of the Year - Bob Garman, West Anchorage.




Quarterback - Cory Wardrope, Chugiak.

Running Back - Brian Felix, Juneau-Douglas; Ozelle Jamestown, West Anchorage; Allen Franklin, East Anchorage; Ryan Stickler, East Anchorage.

Fullback - Warren Ballard, Chugiak.

Wide Receiver - Tate Knutson, East Anchorage; Justin Kissee, Chugiak.

Tight End - James Maloney, West Anchorage.

Tackle - Matt Baxter, West Anchorage; Jake Ritter, Juneau-Douglas.

Guard - Mack Faletio, West Anchorage; Jesse Vaughn, Juneau-Douglas; Royce Holmes, Chugiak.

Center - Tamo Falealili, East Anchorage.


Defensive End - Matt Baxter, West Anchorage; Josh Ofiu, East Anchorage.

Interior Lineman - Anthony Davis, Dimond; Siofaga Taufi, West Anchorage; Jonathan Pili, East Anchorage; Alika Bradley, Juneau-Douglas.

Linebacker - Bobby Dunbar, Bartlett; Matt Devlin, Chugiak; Jake Ritter, Juneau-Douglas; Ryan Holmquist, West Anchorage; Eldon Scanlon, Dimond; Keifan Franklin, East Anchorage.

Defensive Back - Jordan Jamestown, West Anchorage; Justin Kissee, Chugiak; C.J. Keys, Juneau-Douglas; Shakim Giddins, East Anchorage.

Special Teams

Kicker - Kyle Schierholt, Chugiak.

Punter - Richard Martinez, East Anchorage.

Kick returner - V.J. Mobley, Service.

Long snapper - Walter Bryant, Chugiak.




Quarterback - Ricardo Peña, West Anchorage.

Running Back - Jordan Williams, Bartlett; Terrance Anthony, Bartlett; Rory Casey, South Anchorage; Danny Moss, Dimond.

Fullback - Vernon Pennywell, Bartlett.

Wide Receiver - V.J. Mobley, Service; C.J. Keys, Juneau-Douglas.

Tight End - Matt Devlin, Chugiak.

Tackle - Kyle Kimmett, Service; Paul Salunga, West Anchorage; Chris Holmes, East Anchorage.

Guard - Logan Thomas, Bartlett; Trevor Majors, Service; Lorett Nabong, Dimond.

Center - Daniel Moore, West Anchorage.


Defensive End - Alan Hewitt, Chugiak; Mychal Hutcherson, Juneau-Douglas.

Interior Lineman - Oselani Moefili, Bartlett; Daniel Taufi, West Anchorage; Brendon Fowler, South Anchorage; Steven Wilburn, Chugiak.

Linebacker - Josh Lehauli, Juneau-Douglas; Jeremiah Riddick, West Anchorage; Joe Quinn, West Anchorage; Esau Lealaisalan, East Anchorage; Mike Petrovich, South Anchorage; Josh Lacey, East Anchorage.

Defensive Back - Austin Anderson, Service; Montell Massenburg, West Anchorage; Brian Felix, Juneau-Douglas; Nick Nading, East Anchorage.

Special Teams

Kicker - Dylan Ashe, Juneau-Douglas.

Punter - Joe Quinn, West Anchorage.

Kick returner - Warren Ballard, Chugiak.

Long snapper - Siufaga Taufi, West Anchorage.




Quarterback - Chris Hinkley, Juneau-Douglas; Stuart Rowley, Service; Gabe DeBrill, Bartlett; Sonny Lavea, East Anchorage.

Running Back - Ryan Dougherty, South Anchorage; Trevoris Carter, West Anchorage.

Fullback - Remy Martin, West Anchorage.

Wide Receiver - Kylan Robinson, East Anchorage; Ben Faaliga, West Anchorage; Jordan Jamestown, West Anchorage; Angelo Katasse, Juneau-Douglas.

Tight End - Cory Macon, East Anchorage; David Van Ord, Bartlett; Mychal Hutcherson, Juneau-Douglas.

Tackle - Eathyn Manumal, East Anchorage; Chris Benson, Bartlett; Kris Nickson, Bartlett.

Guard - Jess Hessock, Bartlett; Robbie Wilhelm, Service.

Center - Alika Bradley, Juneau-Douglas.


Defensive End - Tony Pruss, Bartlett; Jesse Vaughn, Juneau-Douglas.

Interior Lineman - Nathan Sison, East Anchorage; Marcus Lopez, South Anchorage.

Linebacker - Wade Wilson, South Anchorage; Jermaine Jackson, Bartlett; Clint Severns, Chugiak; Joshua Johnson, Service.

Defensive Back - Elijah Shittu, Bartlett; Anson Williams, West Anchorage; Jake Leemhuis, Chugiak; Josh Troutman, East Anchorage.

Special Teams

Kicker - Justin Burch, Dimond; Mark Pennington, East Anchorage.

Punter - Danny Stuhldryer, Service.

Kick Returner - C.J. Keys, Juneau-Douglas; Shakim Giddins, East Anchorage.

Long Snapper - Jarath Kantor, Service.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us