State Football

Posted: Monday, October 21, 2002


The all-state football team as voted on by the Alaska State Football Coaches Association on Sunday. Players must have been first-team all-conference to qualify for the all-state football team.

Gatorade Player of the Year (player can come from large or small schools) - Zack Bowman, Bartlett.


Offensive Player of the Year - Derek Laws, East Anchorage.

Defensive Player of the Year - Nick Fuhr, Service.

Lineman of the Year - Sloan Green, Bartlett.

Coach of the Year - John Jessen, Bartlett.

Assistant Coach of the Year - Jamie Mayo, Colony.

First Team


Quarterback - Derek Laws, East Anchorage. Running back - Ryan Ersland, Service; Boaz Gionson, Bartlett; Jon Rogers, Eielson; Abe Salmon, Wasilla. Fullback - Ali Larijani, Palmer. Wide receiver - Casey Flair, East Anchorage; Nick Varner, Lathrop. Tight end - Nick Fuhr, Service. Center - Pat McDonald, Bartlett. Guard - Sloan Green, Bartlett; Junior Aumavae, Palmer; Ben Clooten, Lathrop. Tackle - Travis Anderson, Dimond; Greg Marlow, Bartlett; Greg Schearer, Service.


Defensive end - Ben Clooten, Lathrop; Wayne Cushingham, Chugiak. Defensive line - Junior Aumavae, Palmer; Stephan Martinez, Chugiak; Billy Ross, Service; Sam Widmer, Wasilla. Linebacker - Javier Brown, Bartlett; Jessee Spillman, Bartlett; Chad Adams, Dimond; Ward Dobbs, Lathrop; Nick Fuhr, Service; Auggie Manelick, Colony; Tommy McNeil, Chugiak. Defensive back - Zack Bowman, Bartlett; Michael John, Chugiak; Brad Lozano, Chugiak; Preston Pickett, Colony.

Special Teams

Kicker - Chris James, Chugiak. Long snapper - Greg Marlow, Bartlett. Kick returner - Zack Bowman, Bartlett. Punter - Auggie Manelick, Colony. Utility - Zack Bowman, Bartlett. Punt Returner - Rhett Magner, Colony. Special teams - Jeramy Walker, Wasilla.

Second Team


Quarterback - Brock Graziadei, Lathrop. Running back - Ward Dobbs, West Valley; Jared Solberg, West Anchorage; Henry Hellrung, Bartlett. Fullback - Jake Staser, Service. Wide receiver - Zack Bowman, Bartlett; Ronnie Moody, West Valley. Tight end - George Skinner, Eielson. Center - Domonic Bellotte, Colony. Guard - Jon Faletoi, West Anchorage; Matt Mazany, Bartlett. Tackle - Mike Hollett, North Pole; Justin Skinner, Lathrop.


Defensive end - Jake DeBuck, Colony; Brian Jones, Service. Defensive line - Jon Faletoi, West Anchorage; Mike Hollett, North Pole; Jameson Rickard, Dimond; Shane Tufford, West Valley. Linebacker - David Craig, Colony; Ryan Fritz, Lathrop; Jared Solberg, West Anchorage. Defensive back - Kyle Allison, West Valley; Paul DevosConCellos, Service; Jake Hughes, Lathrop; Jon Rogers, Eielson.

Special Teams

Kicker - Gabe Nicholson, Lathrop. Long snapper - Cody Burkes, Eielson. Kick returner - Kyle Allison, West Valley. Utility - Jason Dahlke, North Pole. Punter - Josh Kimpton, Dimond.


Small Schools

Offensive Player of the Year - Cory Janson, Kenai.

Defensive Player of the Year - Adam Crum, Homer.

Lineman of the Year - Caleb Sizemore, Soldotna.

Utility Player of the Year - T.J. Hancock, Kenai.

Coach of the Year - (tie) Cliff Draper, Seward; Sarge Truesdell, Soldotna.

Assistant Coach of the Year - Jim Dawson, Kenai.

First Team


Quarterback - Peter Clemens, Houston. Running back - Cory Janson, Kenai; David Drake, Homer. Fullback - Derek Martin, Soldotna. Wide receiver - Taylor Richey, Houston. Tight end - D.J. Sandidge, Houston. Center - Marcus Kuhns, Homer. Guard - Doug Jones, Seward; Caleb Sizemore, Soldotna. Tackle - Josh Brantley, Soldotna; Mike Barnes, Skyview.


Defensive line - Mike Loucks, Sitka; Casey Crowder, Kenai; Zack Boll, Soldotna; Caleb Sizemore, Soldotna. Linebacker - Bryan Smith, Homer; Matt Meacham, Soldotna; Adam Crum, Homer; Dakota Craig, Kenai. Defensive back - Cory Janson, Kenai; Jon Adams, Homer; Peter Clemens, Houston.

Special Teams

Kicker - Micah Reynolds, Kenai. Long snapper - Casey Crowder, Kenai. Return specialist - Cory Janson, Kenai. Punter - David Drake, Homer. Utility - T.J. Hancock, Kenai.

Second Team


Quarterback - Eric Simpson, Soldotna. Running back - Josh Winters, Nikiski; Jonah Swiderski, Seward. Fullback - Bobby Dunbar, Anchorage Christian Schools. Wide receiver - Ricky Simpson, Soldotna. Tight end - Johnny Howarth, Soldotna. Center - J.D. Welch, Houston. Guard - Josh Homan, Anchorage Christian Schools; Ryan Staab, Skyview. Tackle - Ray Ledet, Seward; Chris Parrish, Nikiski.


Defensive line - Alex Hawkins, Anchorage Christian Schools; Chris Parrish, Nikiski; Doug Jones, Seward; Mike Barnes, Skyview. Linebacker - Kenny Lemieux, Anchorage Christian Schools; Cody Redford, Houston; Trevor Tompkins, Skyview; Jed Martinson, Houston; Bobby Dunbar, Anchorage Christian Schools. Defensive back - Lucas Fellman, Skyview; Taylor Richey, Houston; Jonah Swiderski, Seward.

Special Teams

Kicker - Josh Homan, Anchorage Christian Schools. Long snapper - Charles Logan, Seward. Return specialist - Taylor Richey, Houston. Punter - Kevin Gerke, Nikiski. Utility - Cody Redford, Houston.


The brackets for the 2002 Alaska State Football Playoffs, which opened on Friday, Oct. 4.

Large school division


Game 1 - Bartlett (CIFC-Seed 1) 55, West Anchorage (CIFC-4) 15

Game 2 - Chugiak (CIFC-2) 18, Service (CIFC-3) 6

Game 3 - Lathrop (NRBC-4) 23, Colony (NRBC-1) 13

Game 4 - Palmer (NRBC-2) 15, Wasilla (NRBC-3) 8


Game 5 - Bartlett 46, Palmer 30

Game 6 - Chugiak 24, Lathrop 6

Championship game

Game 7 - Bartlett 34, Chugiak 13




Game 1 - Soldotna (NLC-Seed 1) 26, Seward (GLC-2) 13

Game 2 - Kenai Central (NLC-2) 35, Houston (GLC-1) 20

Championship game

Game 3 - Kenai Central 7, Soldotna 0


The scores of the state football championship games since 1983. The state tournament has been sponsored by the Alaska School Activities Association since 1990. Before 1990, there was a state invitational tournament which featured the Cook Inlet Football Conference champion against the champion of either the Railbelt Conference or Northern Lights Conference champion, and a consolation game between the CIFC runner-up and the NLC or RBC winner not in the state invitational title game. ASAA created a four-team small schools state tournament in 2000.


Year Score

2002 Bartlett 34, Chugiak 13

2001 Dimond 16, Bartlett 0

2000 Dimond 28, Colony 21

1999 Service 49, Wasilla 0

1998 Service 48, Dimond 20

1997 Service 47, Chugiak 14

1996 Chugiak 24, Palmer 19

1995 Palmer 12, Chugiak 7

1994 Service 16, Chugiak 14

1993 Dimond 20, Eielson 19

1992 Eielson 28, Soldotna 9

1991 Bartlett 27, Eielson 0

1990 East Anchorage 36, Soldotna 7

x-1989 West Anchorage 19, Bartlett 3

1988 Chugiak 20, Soldotna 18

1987 East Anchorage 41, North Pole 6

1986 East Anchorage 29, Palmer 18

1985 East Anchorage 26, Lathrop 0

1984 Chugiak 8, Lathrop 5

1983 Dimond 21, Soldotna 0

x-Two teams - Bartlett and West Anchorage - declared themselves champions in 1989 and the title is still in dispute. Bartlett, which beat West Anchorage in the regular season and won the Cook Inlet Football Conference title, lost to West in a rescheduled state invitational championship game after the CIFC couldn't find a team from the Northern Lights Conference or Railbelt Conference to play West in the consolation game (Eielson, Soldotna and Palmer all declined to play West, then Palmer beat Eielson in a post-season game). After losing to West, Bartlett beat Railbelt Conference co-champion West Valley the next weekend in the matchup that was supposed to have been the original state invitational title game. The Alaska School Activities Association created its football state tournament the next year.


Year Score

2002 Kenai Central 7, Soldotna 0

2001 Nikiski 35, Seward 13

2000 Nikiski 20, Soldotna 14

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us