North Pole claims state large-school football crown

Patriots trounce West Anchorage for school's first Alaska football title

Posted: Sunday, October 24, 2004

Perry Monzulla rushed for 226 yards and three touchdowns as the North Pole Patriots claimed their first state football title with a 44-13 win over West Anchorage in Saturday's Alaska large-school championship game at Anchorage Football Stadium.

North Pole (10-1) jumped out to a 36-0 lead before previously unbeaten West Anchorage (10-1) got on the board on a Jordan Jamestown touchdown run with 4:01 left in the game. Jamestown had 146 yards on eight carries for the Eagles.

Monzulla, who set the state all-time single-season rushing mark earlier this fall, scored on runs of two and four yards in the first quarter and 46 yards in the fourth. He ran the ball 41 times.

Patriots quarterback Chris Powell threw a 17-yard touchdown pass to Jamie Hurlburt in the third quarter, ran for a score in the fourth, kicked a field goal and converted three extra-point kicks.

West had three interceptions and two fumbles - both lost - in the game. North Pole did not commit a turnover.

North Pole beat Juneau-Douglas 58-30 last weekend in the state semifinals to earn its title-game berth.

In state football tournament awards announced Saturday, Juneau senior running back Brian Felix made the all-tournament team on offense, while Juneau junior linebacker Josh Lehauli and senior lineman Jesse Vaughn made the all-tourney squad on defense.

Juneau's Alika Bradley and Pat Kohan were named to the tournament's Good Sport Team.

Complete 2004 state football playoffs scores and awards are printed below. A historical summary of Alaska high school football playoffs can be found on the online Scoreboard.


Championship: North Pole 44, West Anchorage 13.

Semifinals: North Pole 58, Juneau-Douglas 30; West Anchorage 24, Colony 14.

Quarterfinals: Juneau-Douglas 27, East Anchorage 26; North Pole 53, Palmer 7; West Anchorage 44, Chugiak 30; Colony 21, Lathrop 14.

Sportsmanship Award: North Pole

Team Academic Award: Colony (team GPA 2.78)

All-Tournament Team


Juneau-Douglas: Brian Felix.

North Pole: Perry Monzulla, Justin Ballek, Charles Spencer, Jamie Hurlburt, E.J. Martinez.

West Anchorage: Luteru Faletoi, Ozelle Jamestown, Jordan Jamestown.

Colony: Rhett Magner, Justin Schwartzbauer.


Juneau-Douglas: Jesse Vaughn, Josh Lehauli.

North Pole: Jamie Hurlburt, Jeff Conley, Jake Barthelemy, Cameron Culver.

West Anchorage: Joe Quinn, Daniel Taufi, Ryan Holmquist, Siugaga Taufi.

Colony: Dominick Bellotte.


West Anchorage: Joe Quinn.

Good Sport Team

Juneau-Douglas: Alika Bradley, Pat Kohan.

North Pole: Andrew Stefan, Cameron Culver.

West Anchorage: Ozelle Jamestown, Jeremiah Riddick.

Colony: Frank Gamboa, Jesse White.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us