Felix, Keys earn first team all-state repeats

Lehauli named Utility Player of the Year

Posted: Monday, October 25, 2004

Juneau-Douglas High School seniors Brian Felix and C.J. Keys made a return to the first team of the all-state football squad announced on Sunday.

Felix made the first team as a running back, while Keys made it as a defensive back, both for the second straight season, to lead the five Crimson Bears honored in balloting by the state's large schools coaches.

Players had to be named to the first team for their respective all-conference squads to be eligible for consideration on the all-state team. Last year, both Felix and Keys earned two spots on the all-state team. Felix was first team as a defensive back and Keys was second team as a wide receiver. But this year they were only eligible at one position each.

Felix finished fourth in the state in rushing yards this year with 1,140 yards and 14 touchdowns on 215 carries. It was Felix's second straight season with more than 1,000 yards rushing, even though he was slowed by offseason knee surgery early in Juneau's schedule.

Keys was one of the state's top coverage defensive backs this year. Stats weren't available for Keys on defense, but on offense he tied for second in receptions with 26 catches for 548 yards and seven touchdowns as a wide receiver.

The only Juneau player to earn two spots on the all-state team this year was senior Jake Ritter - who was a first-team selection at linebacker and a second-team pick at offensive tackle.

Senior offensive guard Jesse Vaughn made the second team on offense, while senior interior lineman Alika Bradley made the second team on defense.

Juneau junior Josh Lehauli did not make the all-state team at any of the positions, but he still earned the Utility Player of the Year award for his versatility. Lehauli lined up at linebacker on defense; fullback, tailback and wide receiver on offense; punted and returned kickoffs this year for the Crimson Bears.

North Pole senior running back Perry Monzulla, who set state records with 2,860 yards and 44 touchdowns on 273 carries while leading the Patriots to their first large schools state title, earned the Offensive Player of the Year award. West Anchorage senior linebacker Ryan Holmquist was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while North Pole senior tackle Andrew Stefan won the Lineman of the Year Award.

North Pole coach Buck Nystrom, who holds the state record for coaching victories with 143, won the Head Coach of the Year award. Jamie Mayo of Colony won the Assistant Coach of the Year award.

The complete large schools and small schools all-state team lists can be found below:

The large schools and small schools All-State Football Teams, as voted on by coaches and released on Sunday. Players had to make their respective first-team all-conference squads to be considered for the All-State Football Teams.



Offensive Player of the Year - Perry Monzulla, North Pole.

Defensive Player of the Year - Ryan Holmquist, West Anchorage.

Lineman of the Year - Andrew Stefan, North Pole.

Utility Player of the Year - Josh Lehauli, Juneau-Douglas.

Head Coach of the Year - Buck Nystrom, North Pole.

Assistant Coach of the Year - Jamie Mayo, Colony.




Center - Tamo Falealili, East Anchorage.

Guard - Mark Faletio, West Anchorage; Justin Ballek, North Pole; Dominick Bellotte, Colony.

Tackle - Matt Baxter, West Anchorage; Frank Devine, Chugiak; Andrew Stefan, North Pole.

Tight End - James Maloney, West Anchorage.

Wide Receiver - Tate Knutson, East Anchorage; Justin Schwartzbauer, Colony.

Quarterback - Cory Wardrope, Chugiak.

Fullback - Jamie Hurlburt, North Pole.

Running Back - Brian Felix, Juneau-Douglas; Jordan Jamestown, West Anchorage; Perry Monzulla, North Pole.


Defensive End - Matt Baxter, West Anchorage; Justin Ballek, North Pole.

Defensive Interior Lineman - Siofaga Taufi, West Anchorage; Jonathan Pili, East Anchorage; Jeff Conley, North Pole; Dominick Bellotte, Colony.

Linebacker - Bobby Dunbar, Bartlett; Jake Ritter, Juneau-Douglas; Ryan Holmquist, West Anchorage; Keifan Franklin, East Anchorage; Cam Culver, North Pole.

Defensive Back - C.J. Keys, Juneau-Douglas; Shakim Giddins, East Anchorage; Charles Spencer, North Pole; Rhett Magner, Colony.


Kicker - Kyle Schierholt, Chugiak.

Punter - Richard Martinez, East Anchorage.

Kick Returner - V.J. Mobley, Service.

Long Snapper - Walter Bryant, Chugiak.




Center - E.J. Martinez, North Pole.

Guard - Jesse Vaughn, Juneau-Douglas; Royce Holmes, Chugiak.

Tackle - Jeremy Warwick, North Pole; Jake Ritter, Juneau-Douglas.

Tight End - Cam Culver, North Pole.

Wide Receiver - Justin Kissee, Chugiak; Bryant Salarriaga, West Valley.

Quarterback - Rhett Magner, Colony.

Fullback - Warren Ballard, Chugiak.

Running Back - Allen Franklin, East Anchorage; Ryan Stickler, East Anchorage; Sean Oliviera, Colony; Devon Conroy, Palmer.


Defensive End - Josh Ofia, East Anchorage; Sid Johnson, Lathrop.

Defensive Interior Lineman - Anthony Davis, Dimond; Alika Bradley, Juneau-Douglas; Chris Johnson, Wasilla; Andrew Stefan, North Pole.

Linebacker - Matt Devlin, Chugiak; Eldon Scanlon, Dimond; Austin Manelick, Colony; Steel Tubbs, Palmer.

Defensive Back - Jordan Jamestown, West Anchorage; Justin Kissee, Chugiak; Justin Schwartzbauer, Colony; Matt Crane, Wasilla.


Kicker - Tim Egger, Colony.

Punter - John Thies, Lathrop.

Kick Returner - Rhett Magner, Colony.

Long Snapper - John Thies, Lathrop.




Offensive Player of the Year - Garrett Gardner, Soldotna.

Defensive Player of the Year - Dakota Craig, Kenai Central.

Co-Linemen of the Year - Dan Spindler, Soldotna, and John Schwenke, Nikiski.

Coaches of the Year - Roger Steinbrecher and Mark Woodward, Seward.




Center - Cody Crum, Homer.

Guard - Dan Spindler, Soldotna; Ray Ledet, Seward.

Tackle - John Schwenke, Nikiski; Chris Minsch, Houston.

Tight End - Josh Finney, Eielson.

Wide Receiver - Nick Scales, Eielson.

Quarterback - Evan Skinner, Eielson.

Fullback - Ryann Hansen, Kenai Central; Jared Mazurek, Nikiski.

Running Back - Dakota Craig, Kenai Central; Garrett Gardner, Soldotna.

Return Specialist - Travis McGahan, Nikiski.

Long Snapper - Papapa Nicholas, Kenai Central.

Kicker - Cody Beck, Seward.


Defensive End/Outside Linebacker - Michael Scheffert, Kenai Central; Evan Skinner, Eielson; Travis McGahan, Nikiski.

Defensive Interior Lineman - John Schwenke, Nikiski; Chad Whaley, Eielson; Papapa Nicholas, Kenai Central; Dan Spindler, Soldotna.

Inside Linebacker - Dakota Craig, Kenai Central; Andy Kappler, Houston.

Defensive Back - Garrett Gardner, Soldotna; Justin Smith, Homer; Cameron Schneider, Soldotna.

Punter - Kory Wilbanks, Soldotna.

Utility Player - Solomon Wright, Eielson.




Center - Charles Logan, Seward.

Guard - Zach Demello, Kenai Central; Andy Kappler, Houston.

Tackle - Matt Hicks, Soldotna; Sonny Nelson, Kenai Central.

Tight End - Kory Wilbanks, Soldotna.

Wide Receiver - Aleks Pfaffe, Soldotna.

Quarterback - Cameron Schneider, Soldotna.

Fullback - None listed.

Running Back - Justin Tumbaga, Nikiski; Nick Rogers, Eielson.

Return Specialist - Stuart McFarland, Kodiak.

Long Snapper - Charles Logan, Seward.

Kicker - Ju Kim, Kenai Central.


Defensive End/Outside Linebacker - Zach Rowell, Skyview.

Defensive Interior Lineman - Cody Dwyer, Anchorage Christian Schools; Justin Vasquez, Houston; Richard Derkevorkian, Skyview; Kurt Romberg, Soldotna.

Inside Linebacker - Jacob Howarth, Soldotna; Ray Ledet, Seward.

Defensive Back - Charley Rininger, Seward; Jared Mazurek, Nikiski; Nick Rogers, Eielson.

Punter - Cody Beck, Seward.

Utility Player - Gregor Bosick, Skyview.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us