Posted: Friday, November 02, 2007

The Juneau Public Libraries celebrated National Children's Book Week with the Bookmark Contest sponsored by the Friends of the Juneau Public Libraries. Come to any branch of the Juneau Public Libraries after November 12 and be among the first to enjoy this year's winning designs! Winners' designs will be given out at the library all year. Honored children will receive gift certificates from The Friends of Juneau Public Libraries Amazing Bookstore and Hearthside Books, and laminated copies of their bookmarks.

Sound off on the important issues at

A panel of five judges reviewed 1,194 entries and chose one winner and two honorable mentions for each gradelevel, preschool through high school. Their selections were as follows:

Preschool: Lila Quigley, Co-op; Elin Antaya, Co-op; and Johanna Griggs, VBA.

Kindergarten: Katie Guthrie, Riverbend Elementary School; Rigdon Hermann, Mendenhall River Community School; and Aaron Blust, Charter School.

First grade: Matthew Fred, Mendenhall River; Quanitta Chup, Harborview Elementary School; and Sam Smith, Mendenhall River.

Second grade: Sam Hall, Mendenhall River; Jacob Hinckle, Glacier Valley; and Azure Briggs, Glacier Valley.

Third grade: Finn Sinclair, homeschool; Laura Barnhill, Riverbend; and Carraig New, homeschool.

Fourth grade: Summer Walker, Mendenhall River; Izzy Christenson, IDEA; and Erin Buhler, Auke Bay.

Fifth grade: Samuel Boggs, Harborview; Aurora Bodine, Gastineau; and John Yadao, Mendenhall River.

Sixth grade: Farrah Davis, Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School; Padraig New, homeschool; and Marina McDowell, Floyd Dryden Middle School.

Seventh grade: Ariana Orford, Floyd Dryden; Kiah Mott, SDA; and Conway Tomlinson, homeschool.

Eighth grade: Kiera Clark, Floyd Dryden; Chase Schneider, Dzantik'i Heeni; and Charlotte Brown, Raven.

High school: Kelly Fernandez, Juneau-Douglas High School; Megan Murayama, IDEA; and Dawson Walker, JDHS.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us