Alaska voters retain all judges

Posted: Wednesday, November 06, 2002

JUNEAU - Voters statewide returned 16 judges to the bench by a 2-1 to 3-1 margin. Alaska judges are appointed by the governor, but retained in periodic elections.

Supreme Court Justice Walter Carpeneti of Juneau was retained with 67 percent of the statewide vote. State Court of Appeals Judge David Mannheimer won 66 percent of the statewide vote.

Within the Southeast judicial district, Juneau Superior Court Judge Patricia Collins won 76 percent of the vote. Juneau District Judge Peter Froehlich garnered 70 percent of the vote.

Also in Southeast, Ketchikan Superior Court Judge Michael Thompson won 72 percent of the vote, and Ketchikan District Judge Kevin Miller had 75 percent of the vote.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us