Bears win four titles at season's first meet

Posted: Sunday, November 07, 2004

Juneau-Douglas High School wrestlers Dante Santos, Cody Wolf, Clinton Clark and Jake Mason won individual titles Saturday as a short-handed Crimson Bear squad opened its season at the Sitka Invitational.

"We were short-handed, but the guys we brought were pretty outstanding," said Juneau coach Kris Mercer. "As far as first outings go, I couldn't be happier. They've come a long way from last year."

Santos defeated Sitka's Vince Licari in an 8-2 decision in the 112-pound weight class final; Wolf beat Mount Edgecumbe's Earl Alstrom in a 9-7 decision at 125 pounds; Clark beat Mount Edgecumbe's Gusty Wassily at 140 pounds in an 11-0 major decision; and Mason beat Mount Edgecumbe's Aaron Nicoli in a 10-5 decision in the 215-pound final.

Clark, a junior, and Santos, a sophomore, wrestled for Juneau last season. Mason is a sophomore transfer from Ohio who was competing in his first matches for Juneau while Wolf, a junior, was making his return to the mat after opting to not wrestle last season.

The meet also included wrestlers from Skagway, Hoonah and Angoon. Teams competed in several dual meets on Friday before wrestling in a bracketed format on Saturday.

Mercer - who took a reduced number of wrestlers to Sitka but will bring a full squad to next weekend's meet in Ketchikan - said sophomore Matt Barry posted a strong showing after wrestling up a weight class. Barry usually wrestles at 140 or 145, but due to a lack of entrants he moved up to the 152-pound division and finished second to Sam Carney of Mount Edgecumbe. Carney was a Class 1A/2A/3A state runner-up last season.

After heading to Ketchikan next weekend, the Crimson Bears return home to host the Brandon Pilot Invitational on Nov. 19-20.


Final-round results from Saturday's matches at the Sitka Invitational wrestling tournament.


103 pounds - Michael Abt (Sitka) dec. Thomas Norris (Hoonah), 13-6. 112 - Dante Santos (Juneau) dec. Vince Licari (Sitka), 8-2. 119 - Jimmy Jurczak (Sitka) pin. Ernest Keith (Mount Edgecumbe), 3:17. 125 - Cody Wolf (Juneau) dec. Earl Alstrom (Mount Edgecumbe), 9-7. 130 - combined with 135. 135 - George Wathen (Sitka) pin. Killian Skaflestad (Hoonah), 3:35. 140 - Clinton Clark (Juneau) maj. dec. Gusty Wassily (Mount Edgecumbe), 11-0. 145 - combined with 152. 152 - Sam Carney (Mount Edgecumbe) maj. dec. Matt Barry (Juneau), 14-3. 160 - Justin Gardiner (Mount Edgecumbe) dec. Dylan Bergman (Sitka), 7-5. 171 - Nick Shellabarger (Mount Edgecumbe) pin. Eric Larson (Hoonah), 4:33. 189 - Max Shellabarger (Mount Edgecumbe) pin. John Kuterbach (Juneau), 1:54. 215 - Jake Mason (Juneau) dec. Aaron Nicoli (Mount Edgecumbe), 10-5. 275 - Tyler Holmlund (Sitka) pin. Thomas Parkin (Angoon), 4:00.


(third-place matches)

103 pounds - Joe Pete (Mount Edgecumbe) won by forfeit (no opponent). 112 - Misa Beans (Mount Edgecumbe) dec. Francis Prince (Mount Edgecumbe), 5-3. 119 - Kevin Conway (Sitka) pin. Crystal Ketterman (Skagway), 1:46. 125 - Lucas Chambers (Sitka) pin. Ian Concillus (Mount Edgecumbe), 0:46. 130 - combined with 135. 135 - Steve Dyer (Juneau) pin. Torin Lehmann (Sitka), 4:12. 140 - Eric Dock (Mount Edgecumbe) dec. Kamden Johnson (Sitka), 8-2. 145 - combined with 152. 152 - Jason Koelling (Sitka) dec. Garrett Cox (Juneau), 4-0. 160 - Phillip Moser (Juneau) dec. Claude Young (Mount Edgecumbe), 2-1. 171 - Finn Straley (Sitka) pin. Thomas Littlefield (Skagway), 0:55. 189 - Jake LaDuke (Sitka) pin. Samson Keeney (Juneau), 2:30. 215 - Lyle Coutlee (Hoonah) won by forfeit (no opponent). 275 - Phillip Dumag (Sitka) pin. Kevin Wilkens (Juneau), 2:33.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us