Three Sector Juneau Guardsmen honored for innovation

Posted: Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Three local United States Coast Guardsmen were finalists for the 2010 Capt. Niels P. Thomsen Innovation Award.

Chief Warrant Officer Dennis Sullivan and Petty Officer Second Class Eric Hunter from Coast Guard Sector Juneau, and 17th Coast Guard District Petty Officer First Class Patrick Horan from the 17th Coast Guard District were tapped for the honor.

The 10th Annual Coast Guard Innovation Exposition was held in St. Petersburg, Fla. earlier this month and its purpose was to identify and implement new ways to improve mission execution and support.

Sullivan, Hunter and Horan received public recognition and a headquarters-funded trip to the Innovation Exposition for their project that focused on improving methodology for determination of steel strength, according to a press release from the Coast Guard. The result will have a major impact on the Coast Guard inspections program by saving money and time, while improving the accuracy of assessments, according to the release. Such improvements may also save vessel owners money by allowing for more accurate vessel condition surveys.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us