State senators announce bipartisan organization

Posted: Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Sen. Gary Stevens announced last week that the Senate Bipartisan Working Group will continue to lead the Alaska Senate during the 26th session of the Alaska Legislature.

"The bipartisan coalition was a tremendous success," said Stevens. "So when we looked back on what we were able to accomplish together over the past two years it was an easy decision to remain together. We will continue to set aside our philosophical differences and pass legislation that benefits all Alaskans."

"During the last two years, the Bipartisan Working Group achieved a record more successful than any legislature in the last 20 years, said Sen. Johnny Ellis. "We had big breakthroughs on issues like renewable energy, education, and support for local governments. This new Bipartisan Working Group wants to again tackle the big issues such as energy, long-range fiscal planning, workforce development, and education and have another two years of success."

The Senate Bipartisan Working Group will be made up of all ten senate Democrats and three Republicans. The group includes: Sen. Johnny Ellis, D-Anchorage; Sen. Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel; Sen. Hollis French, D-Anchorage; Sen. Kim Elton, D-Juneau; Sen. Joe Thomas, D-Fairbanks; Sen. Donny Olson, D-Nome; Sen. Bill Wielechowski, D-Anchorage; Sen. Bettye Davis, D-Anchorage; Sen. Albert Kookesh, D-Angoon; Sen.-Elect Joe Paskvan, D-Fairbanks; Sen. Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak; Sen. Charlie Huggins, R-Rural Mat-Su/Chugiak; and Sen. Bert Stedman, R-Sitka.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us