Student Sinfonia selections

Posted: Thursday, November 20, 2003

• "The Marriage of Figaro" Overture, by W.A. Mozart (1756-1791), arranged by R. Meyer - "Figaro was Mozart's second opera and though it did afford him exposure to the emperor and Viennese musical society, it was not immediately accepted as the masterpiece that history later proved it to be. Today, we enjoy the sparkling melodies and surprising dynamic explosions of this 214-year-old piece written by a 29-year-old genius."

• Finale from Symphony No. 5, by L. van Beethoven (1770-1827), arranged by R. Meyer - "This is an arrangement of the final movement of the work which opens with the iconic 'knock of death.' We bring you the joy and triumph of the end of the symphony today; perhaps we will give you the struggle at a later concert."

• Trepak from "The Nutcracker," by P.I. Tchaikovsky (1840-1895), arranged by S. Dackow - "The work, based on Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale, is a ballet and also a concert suite. The Trepak is a Russian dance."

Page not found | Juneau Empire - Alaska's Capital City Online Newspaper

Page not found

We're sorry, but the page you were seeking does not exist. It may have been moved or expired.  Perhaps our search engine can help. 



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback