Posted: Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Emily Elizabeth Osborn was awarded a Child Development Associate credential in recognition of outstanding work with young children. The credential was awarded by the Council for Professional Recognition in Washington, D.C., which represents he early childhood education profession.

Sound off on the important issues at

As part of the CDA assessment process, every candidate is observed working with young children or families by an early childhood professional. In addition, the candidate must demonstrate the ability to work with families to develop children's physical and intellectual capabilities in a safe and healthy learning environment.


Isabel Bush and Gus Browning, two Juneau-Douglas High School seniors, were named semifinalists in the 2008 National Merit Scholarship program. These students, along with 39 other Alaskans, will continue in the nationwide competition for 8,200 Merit Scholarship awards worth $34 million.

More than 1.4 million juniors entered the 2008 program by taking the 2006 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The semifinalists, which represent less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, include the highest scoring entrants in each state.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an exemplary academic record, receive an endorsement and recommendation by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student's earlier qualifying test performance. The semifinalist and a school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes the student's self-descriptive essay and information about the semifinalist's participation and leadership in school and community activities.

The Merit Scholarship winners will be announced next spring. For more information on the National Merit Scholarship Program, log on to


George J. "Jim" Sepel, an accredited marine surveyor of Juneau, was elected president by the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors. By virtue of this title, he also serves on the organization's board of directors.

For more information on the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors, call (800) 344-9077 or (904) 384-1794, or visit


The Alaska Chapter of the March of Dimes is proud to announce the award winners for our annual Nurse of the Year awards. This year we had 88 nominees from across the state and every seat in the house was sold, as the winners were announced the room exploded with cheers!

Of the winners, Kathleen Hursh and Donna Meiners, from Bartlett Regional Hospital, along with Kathleen "Kitty" Cloud, from the Alaska Native Medical Center, won the Legend Awards.

The Alaska Chapter of the March of Dimes thanks its sponsors: Alaska Native Medical Center, Fairbanks Memorial Hospital, Providence Medical Center, Alaska Regional Hospital, Bartlett Regional Hospital, Mat-Su Regional Medical Center. Our emcee Sheila Balistreri, Uptown Blossoms, Specialty Imports, Holland America, Continental Airlines and Kraig Haver Photography; Debbie Golden, Jenni Williamson, Debbie Boyce, Dick Odgers, Andy Allen, Betsy LeMay and Pat Reynaga.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us