Juneau team takes second at Turkey Shoot

Composite team makes impressive rise to championships over Thanksgiving weekend

Posted: Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Twelve hockey players from Juneau, Kenny Lake and Glennallen came together to place second out of 12 Alaska tier 3 Bantam teams over Thanksgiving weekend in Anchorage.

Sound off on the important issues at

With more than 70 teams competing, the Bantamtier 3 division was the largest division of the Anchorage Hockey Association's Invitational Turkey Shoot Tournament.

In an impressive rise through the playoffs, the composite team called the JKLG IceHawks, who'd never skated together, battled their way up through five games to play in the sixth and final championship game Sunday at the Ben Boeke Arena.

In the 27 close games of the Bantam division, the largest goal differential was 4 points and most games had a 1 or 2 point spread.

The IceHawks finished fourth in their conference to qualify for the quarter finals where they beat Mighty Moose Olsen 5-3 on Saturday. The semi-final game on Sunday morning was against the MHA Mustangs, in which Juneau played well to win 2-1. The championship game was played Sunday afternoon against the AHA Comets in a hard-fought competition, losing 0-1. The IceHawks scored a total 15 goals and allowed 15 during the tournament.

The team was coached by Lance Miller, of Juneau, Danny Rosenkrans, of Kenny Lake, and Mark Savel, of Glennallen.

Juneau players included Chris Jacobsen, Riley Leary, Sam Greene, Zach Miller, Jordon Hakala, Billy Holbrook and Zander Hoke. Kenny Lake players included Dirck Rosenkrans, Wade Jones and Caleb Helkenn. Glennallen players were Arlen Musgrove and Forrest Savel.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us