Five Bartlett nurses receive Nurse of the Year awards

Posted: Sunday, November 29, 2009

Five nurses from Bartlett Regional Hospital were recognized at the 2009 March of Dimes Nurse of the Year event on Nov. 20 at the Anchorage Sheraton Hotel in Anchorage.

Courtesy Of Jim Strader
Courtesy Of Jim Strader

Nurses of the Year were Justine Muench, "Legend of Nursing" category; Deb Manowski, "Legend of Nursing" category; Ami Reifenstein, "Rising Star" category; Judy Cernobyl, "Legend of Nursing" category; and Tamara Simone-Collins, "Ambulatory Nursing" category.

In all, 14 nurses at Bartlett Regional Hospital were nominated.

"It is my pleasure to congratulate all of the winners of the March of Dimes Nursing Awards and all of the nominees, as well," said Bartlett's Chief of Nursing Operations Cathy Carter. "In the midst of all of the controversy regarding the future and quality of health care, it is reassuring to me personally to know that Bartlett nurses continue to maintain high standards for practice and patient advocacy. I wish we could award all the Bartlett Regional Hospital staff for what they do every day to provide good care to our patients and families."

Carter describe health care as a demanding field with strenuous regulations and responsibilities to the public.

"Our nurses and other health care workers strive to make this the best hospital in Alaska," she said. "I applaud their efforts and appreciate their commitment to the community."

The March of Dimes Nurse of the Year program recognizes nurses in 20 different categories. The recipients in each category are registered nurses or licensed practical nurses whose leadership and contributions have made a significant impact in their community and the profession of nursing. Patients, friends, colleagues and other health professionals nominate up to 100 nurses in Alaska.

According to the criteria outlined in the nomination process from the March of Dimes, a nominee must have lived in Alaska as of Jan. 1, 2008, and must be a registered nurse in good standing with the Alaska State Board of Nursing in order to be considered. The nominee must exemplify an extraordinary level of patient care, compassion and customer service, and must be perceived as a leader among peers and in affecting positive change in the profession, workplace and community.

Current members of the March of Dimes board of directors, staff and members of the Nurse of the Year Executive Committee are not eligible to participate as nominees in this award program.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us