Capitol design competition jury selected

Seven Alaskans, two non-Alaska design professionals on panel

Posted: Tuesday, November 30, 2004

Juneau resident Puanani Maunu is one of the nine jurors chosen by the Capitol Planning Commission to select designs for a new capitol.

"It is really exciting to be a part of the process," said Maunu, project coordinator for the Tlingit-Haida Regional Housing Authority and an artist. "I think the architecture of the new capitol should not only reflect the people, culture, history and beauty of Alaska, but also be a building that will make our spirits soar."

Seven Alaskans and two non-Alaskan design professionals are on the jury. The Alaska jurors include Margaret Branson of Seward, Denise Michels of Nome, Meg Nordale of Fairbanks, as well as Edwin B. Crittenden, Joseph R. Henri and Mead Treadwell of Anchorage.

Anne E. Biebel of Madison, Wis., and Ed Feiner from Washington, D.C., are the two jurors with design experience. Biebel is an architectural historian and project manager of Isthmus Architecture. For the past several years, she has been working on the restoration of the Wisconsin Capitol. Feiner is the chief architect of the U.S. General Services Administration. He leads the agency's design and construction activities throughout the nation.

Juneau resident Keith Gerken, member of the Capitol Planning Commission, will serve as a non-voting member on the jury.

Juneau Mayor Bruce Botelho, who spearheads the Capitol Planning Commission, said it was difficult to make a final selection because of the number of people who wished to serve on the jury. About 40 people applied.

"I am confident that the selected jurors will bring their collective talents to bear as they search for the best possible design team for Alaska's new capitol," Botelho said.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us