38 JDHS students selected for band, choir festivals

Posted: Friday, December 02, 2005

Each year high school student instrumentalists and vocalists work to achieve the honor of being selected to perform in the Southeast Alaska Honor Festival and the All-State Music Festival. Both require mastery of a technically advanced piece of music and audition for admission. The selected students are given the opportunity to share, learn and perform for several days with other student musicians.

Thirty-eight Juneau-Douglas High School students were selected to participate in the regional honor festival from Oct. 30 to Nov. 2 in Petersburg. Fourteen JDHS students were selected to perform in the All State Music Festival, the state's highest honor for music students, held in Anchorage Nov. 17 to 19.

Honor Fest band students from JDHS include: Katie Monagle, Kathryn Rabung, Sara Quinn, Hailey Summers, Libby Parker, Sierra Gadaire, Lisa Dewitt-Narino, Deirdre Ratigan, Kate Diebels, Max Johnson, Jessica Workman, Isabel Bush, Travis Monagle, Kyle Savikko, Marion Hurlbut, Ian Nankervis, Katie Nelson, T.J. Hovest, Dan Gaisford, Rachel Stauffer, Kristina Paulick, Shelby Oecklaus, Cady O'Brien, Scott Haecker, Erin Oelklaus, Kevin Heffern, Stephen Young, Panah Mehrabad and Alex Nelson.

Honor Fest choir students include: Giselle Stone, Clairen Stone, Mary Erickson, Sonne Kyle-Olson, Beatrice Abella, Evan Thibodeau, Raleigh Bartholomew, Deven Walker and Justin Sanbei.

All State band students include: Kristina Paulick, Kyle Savikko, Stephen Young and Hope Aldrighette (first alternate).

All state orchestra students include: Taylor Hubbard, Kelsey Preecs, Franz Felkl, Ann Robertson and Keegan Goodell.

All state singers include: Giselle Stone, Clairen Stone, Sonne Kyle-Olsen, Erin Pratt and Justin Sanbei (alternate).

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us