Four Juneau wrestlers win titles in Sitka

Posted: Monday, December 04, 2000

Four Juneau-Douglas High School wrestlers claimed titles in their weight classes at the Geoff Brederman tournament at Sitka's Mount Edgecumbe High School.

No team scores were kept for the tournament, which featured wrestlers from Juneau, Sitka, Mount Edgecumbe, Petersburg, Hoonah, Pelican and Kake high schools. Five Petersburg wrestlers won individual titles, while two went to Hoonah and one went to Kake.

Patrick Carrillo of Juneau claimed the title at 119 pounds with a 10-6 decision over teammate Anthony Manacio IV. Willy Dodd of Juneau beat Kevin Thynes of Petersburg 12-6 to win the championship at 125 pounds, while Juneau's Anthony Manacio III won the championship at 130 pounds with a 13-2 major decision over teammate David Liliedahl. Jestin Hulegaard won Juneau's other title, with a 9-6 decision over Sitka's David Bergman at 135 pounds.

The other weight class champions were Brandon Wright of Hoonah in a combined 103-112 pound division, Mike Nilsen of Petersburg at 140, Ian Williams of Petersburg at 145, Jimmy Refuerzo of Hoonah at 152, Joey Boggs of Petersburg at 160, Drew Ware of Petersburg at 171, Mike James of Kake at 189 and Joe Green of Petersburg in a combined 215-275 pound division.

The wrestling season continues this Friday and Saturday with the Region V championships in Ketchikan. Wrestling starts at 9:30 a.m. on both Friday and Saturday, with the championship finals set for 8 p.m. on Saturday. The top six finishers in each weight class at the region meet will advance to the fall season state championship meet Dec. 14-16 in Kenai.


Results from the Geoff Brederman 2000 wrestling tournament at Sitka's Mount Edgecumbe High School. No team scores were kept and first names were not available for all wrestlers.

Championship finals

103-112 pounds -- Brandon Wright (Hoonah) dec. Cameron Mitchell (Juneau), 9-2. 119 -- Patrick Carrillo (Juneau) dec. Anthony Manacio IV (Juneau), 10-6. 125 -- Willy Dodd (Juneau) dec. Kevin Thynes (Petersburg), 12-6. 130 -- Anthony Manacio III (Juneau) maj. dec. David Liliedahl (Juneau), 13-2. 135 -- Jestin Hulegaard (Juneau) dec. David Bergman (Sitka), 9-6. 140 -- Kevin Thynes (Petersburg) maj. dec. Garrett Anelon (Mount Edgecumbe), 11-0. 145 -- Ian Williams (Petersburg) pin. Jason Carlinga (Mount Edgecumbe), no time. 152 -- Jimmy Refuerzo (Hoonah) dec. Nyle Thomas (Petersburg), 8-3. 160 -- Joey Boggs (Petersburg) dec. Greg Brown (Juneau), 3-2. 171 -- Drew Ware (Petersburg) over K. Hardin (Petersburg), no score. 189 -- Mike James (Kake) dec. Darren LaDuke (Sitka), 1-0. 215-275 -- Joe Greene (Petersburg) dec. Jerrod Harvey (Juneau), 4-1.

Consolation finals

(third-fourth place matches)

103-112 pounds -- Adam Hackett (Sitka) pin. Mike Wright (Juneau), no time. 119 -- Richie Deaver (Petersburg) dec. C. Mahoskey (Sitka), 4-3. 125 -- Jack Malutin (Mount Edgecumbe) maj. dec. J. Carlson (Sitka), 12-4. 130 -- Jamie McCrehin (Sitka) pin. David Gauthier (Sitka), no time. 135 -- J. Carney (Mount Edgecumbe) over R. Gloko (Mount Edgecumbe), no score. 140 -- Loren Bettridge (Hoonah) pin. E. Trefon (Mount Edgecumbe), no time. 145 -- Les Dalton (Hoonah) pin. C. Mixsooke (Mount Edgecumbe), no time. 152 -- C. Masters (Mount Edgecumbe) vs. C. Shellaberger (Mount Edgecumbe), no result listed. 160 -- Kenny Bartlett (Hoonah) maj. dec. F. Phillips (Pelican), 12-3. 171 -- Jarrett Brown (Hoonah) dec. D. Houston (Sitka), 5-1. 189 -- K. Reimer (Petersburg) dec. Jonathan Moore (Juneau), 8-7. 215-275 -- Geoff Hall (Petersburg) pin. J. Crew (Sitka), no time.

Fifth-sixth place matches

103-112 pounds -- Lyons (Petersburg) over Wrenna Klose (Juneau), no score. 119 -- Gabe Baylous (Hoonah) pin. Z. Force (Sitka), no time. 125 -- No match. 130 -- Jacob Bettridge (Hoonah) pin. K. Anderson (Kake), no time. 135 -- B. Agner (Petersburg) pin. J. Albee (Sitka), no time. 140 -- No match. 145 -- Lockwood (Mount Edgecumbe) takes fifth place, no match. 152 -- J. Norris (Kake) takes fifth place, no match. 160 -- B. James (Kake) dec. Peter Muse (Juneau), no score. 171 -- Andrew Larson (Mount Edgecumbe) pin. A. Haskins (Sitka), no time. 189 -- Vince Agne (Sitka) dec. C. Sheehan (Mount Edgecumbe) 12-6. 215-275 -- G. Cobbs (Pelican) takes fifth place, no match.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us