Assembly mulls city appointments

Posted: Tuesday, December 04, 2001

Juneau Assembly members reappointed three people to the Planning Commission on Monday, but will spend more time discussing appointments to the Bartlett Regional Hospital board of directors.

Assembly members reappointed incumbents Johan Dybdahl, Merrill Sanford and Marshal Kendziorek to three-year terms on the Planning Commission at the recommendation of the Human Resources Committee. Chairman Don Etheridge said the panel will meet again to consider a fourth appointment, caused by the resignation of Roger Allington.

The Human Resources Committee also proposed reappointing current board member Stacy Toner and adding new members Virginia Smiley and Reed Stoops to the hospital board. But the Assembly voted to send back the issue for more discussion. Six people applied, including current board members Robert Breffeilh and Donna Herbert.

Assembly member Frankie Pillifant said the city has a lot of talented people ready and waiting to serve. A decision to put new people on the board wasn't a reflection of poor service by other board members, she said.

But Assembly member Dale Anderson said the Assembly was setting a bad precedent by telling people they couldn't continue to serve. The city doesn't have term limits for its appointed boards and commissions, he said.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us