Boozer elected into AK Sports Hall of Fame

Trajan 'the Alaskan Assassin' Langdon, also selected as inductee

Posted: Tuesday, December 04, 2007

Carlos Boozer, a 1999 graduate of Juneau-Douglas High School, who led the Crimson Bears to two Class 4A state basketball titles, was a three-time Alaska player of the year, won an NCAA championship with Duke, received a McDonald's All American honor, won a bronze medal in the 2004 Summer Olympics, and was named an NBA All-Star in 2007, has added another honor.

Sound off on the important issues at

Boozer is among this year's inductees into the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame.

George Houston, Boozer's former high school coach who's remained his close friend, said his selection into the Hall of Fame is an obvious choice.

"It's a nice honor for him to be selected and he's richly deserving of it," Houston said Monday night.

Boozer could not be reached for comment at press time since he was playing a game against the Miami Heat in Utah and traveling to Sacramento directly after the game.

Boozer was just one of several honored.

Harlow Robinson, president of the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame, said, "A lot of Southeast candidates faired extremely well in the voting and narrowly missed getting selected." He said he anticipates more Southeast inductees in the near future.

2008 class inductees are:

• Carlos Boozer, a former Juneau-Douglas High star with the Utah Jazz. He played collegially at Duke University.

• Trajan Langdon, the East High basketball star who played at Duke University before a short career in the NBA. Langdon was a three-time Alaska high school athlete of the year before going on to an All-American career at Duke University. Known as "the Alaskan Assassin" for his shooting prowess, he set the team record for three pointers. Langdon was drafted in the NBA lottery by the Cleveland Cavaliers in 1999 and still plays professionally overseas.

• Joe Redington Sr., the "father" of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race who died in 1999. Redington never won the race, but competed in the race into his 80s.

• Mark Schlereth, a Service High School graduate who was an offensive lineman for three Super Bowl winning teams in Washington and Denver. He's now a football analyst with ESPN.

• Rick Swenson, the only five-time winner of the Iditarod. He won the race in 1977, 1978, 1981, 1982 and 1991.

"The Class of 2008 is an impressive list," Robinson said. "We are proud to welcome them into the Hall."

Also to be inducted at a Feb. 22 ceremony at the ConocoPhillips Atrium in Anchorage are, one event, the Great Alaska Shootout men's college basketball tournament, and one moment, Tommy Moe's gold medal-winning run in the downhill at the 1994 Lillehammer Winter Olympics. The public is invited to the event.

Moe was inducted into the hall last year as part of the inaugural class.

Other athletes receiving votes (in alphabetical order): Big Bob Aiken, Red Boucher, Audun Endestad, Rosey Fletcher, Doug Herron, Nicole Johnston, Reggie Joule, Nina Kemppel, Wally Leask, Hilary Lindh, Buck Nystrom, Brad Precosky, Reilly Richey, Libby Riddles, Vern Tejas, Norman Vaughan, Bradford Washburn.

Other events receiving votes (in random order): Midnight Sun baseball game, World Eskimo-Indian Olympics, Yukon Quest, Mount Marathon, Gold Medal basketball tournament, Special Olympics, Alaska Woman's Run, Arctic Winter Games.

Other moments receiving votes (in random order): Susan Butcher's first of three straight Iditarod victories; Hilary Lindh's Olympic silver medal in the downhill run; Les Anderson's world-record king salmon catch; the 1978 Iditarod photo finish between Dick Mackey and Rick Swenson; Scott Gomez bringing the Stanley Cup to Anchorage; Monroe Catholic beating East Anchorage to win the 1979 state basketball championship; Kris Thorness becoming Alaska's first Olympic medalist, Rick Swenson's fifth Iditarod victory, Doug Herron's 800 meter record, UAF's victory in the Top of the World Classic, Susan Butcher's fourth Iditarod victory, Carlos Boozer leads Duke to the 2001 National championship, the 1925 Serum Run, Noorvik's Elliot Sampson wins the high school cross-country championships.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us