Floyd Dryden dominates Hooptime tourney

Posted: Sunday, December 05, 2010

The future of Juneau area high school basketball is looking great as local middle school teams captured the lion's share of the trophy den during the 2010 Hooptime-Rebounders-Fastbreak Tournament championships Saturday night at Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School gym.

Klas Stolpe / Juneau Empire
Klas Stolpe / Juneau Empire

Floyd Dryden's Trent Uddipa shared team scoring honors of 11 points with teammates Colton Womack and RJ Markovich as the Eagles came back from a 27-23 halftime deficit to beat Ketchikan's Schoenbar, 51-41.

"We try to get baskets off of turnovers," Uddipa said of the Eagle's trapping defense. "I'm glad that we won and came back in the second half."

Uddipa, the tournaments Best Defensive Player award winner, and Manase Maake had the task of slowing down Schoenbar's Tee McBurnete, who hit for 14.

Brenden Pietz, Gabe Florendo, and Markovick were selected to the All-Tournament team along with DZ's Bruce Jones, Nathan Klein and Adam Empsen, Sitka's Tevin Bayne and Elijah Rideinson and Ketchikan's Norte Jones and Leif Svenson. Ketchikan's Aux Phil was Most Valuable Player and Sitka received the Sportsmanship Award.

DZ beat Sitka for third place.

B Championship: FD over DZ, 46-37

Floyd Dryden also took the B championship over DZ, 46-37, while Schoenbar finished third. The Eagles' Dantay Simms was named MVP, Angoon's Jerry Sibley was Best Defensive Player and Haines took the Sportsmanship Award. All-Tournament team was FD's Shane Mielkl and Mo Williams, DZ's Tevita Makaand Kaleb Tompkins, Kake's Terrell Kadake and Baldemero Aeeveda, Ketchikan's Dylan Tippetts and Stephen Beedle, Angoon's Duncan O'brien and Haines' Keanu Lynch.

Girls A Championship: FD over DZ, 35-25

The Floyd Dryden girls opened the championship A game surrounded by the full court press of Dzantik'i Heeni and it never seemed to stop. The Wolverines seemed to be pressing even on timeouts and frustrated the Eagles into early turnovers and a halftime tie at 15-15.

Eagle's guard Sarah Morris took control in the second half by attacking the defense and spotting open teammates such as MVP Siosi Topou. At one point Morris hit four straight free throws and a layup to turn the momentum and share team scoring honors of 11 points with Topou.

"Their defense was tough," Morris said. "We set a lot of screens in the middle in the second half. You have to drive to the basket to beat the press. We are really happy to win."

Ashley Young led DZ with 12 points. DZ's Ava Tompkins was Best Defensive Player and Ketchikan took the Sportsmanship Award. All-Tournament selections were FD's Morris, Rachel Roblah and Noellani Maka, DZ's Young, Cora Bontrager and Izzy Watts, Ketchikan's Felicia Ruaro and Alexis Biggerstaff and Sitka's Sidney Riggs and Kalene Koelling.

Sitka beat Schoenbar for third.

Girls B Championship: Kake over Schoenbar

Kake stopped Schoenbar for the girl's B title while FD topped Haines for third. Kake's Louise Kadake was MVP, FD's Alexis Gomez was Best Defensive Player and Haines recieved the Sportsmanship Award. All-Tournament were DZ's Alondra Echevi, FD's Christina Archart and Amanda Bicknell, Kake's Jackie Benum and Courtney Copsey, Ketchikan's Courtney Kemble, Lessa Murphy and Jade Simms, Angoon's Natasha Kookesh and Haines Cecelia Bower.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us