Assembly fills Planning Commission slots

Jacqueline Fowler to fill seat vacated by Jody Vick

Posted: Tuesday, December 10, 2002

The Juneau Assembly filled five slots on the Juneau Planning Commission on Monday, including a vacancy created by the resignation of Commissioner Jody Vick.

Vick resigned Monday, citing "prior commitments" in a letter to the Assembly. He could not be reached for comment by the Empire's midday deadline.

Vick ran into trouble with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the city this fall after placing fill in the tidelands near his Douglas home without required permits. Vick said he didn't think he needed permits and was trying to stabilize a run-down bank of dirt. He agreed to remove the fill and apply for the permits.

Interim City Manager John MacKinnon said he wasn't aware any city staff members asked Vick to resign.

"There were discussions with Jody by a variety of people. His work commitments were such that he was thinking of doing it," he said.

Assembly members spent more than three hours interviewing candidates and discussing the appointments behind closed doors Monday evening. Ten people applied to serve on the Planning Commission.

At a short special meeting that followed, the Assembly unanimously re-appointed incumbent planning commissioners Mike Bavard, Dan Bruce and Maria Gladziszewski to three-year terms. They also unanimously appointed real estate consultant PeggyAnn McConnochie to fill a two-year seat. She will replace former Planning Commissioner Merrill Sanford, who was elected to the Juneau Assembly in October.

The Assembly also appointed Jacqueline Fowler, a former state administrator and educator who served on the Cordova Planning Commission in the 1980s, to the seat vacated by Vick. The seat has a one-year term.

Fowler's appointment was approved by a 6-1 vote, with Marc Wheeler voting no. Wheeler said he had nothing bad to say about Fowler, but wanted to see applicant Nancy Waterman appointed instead. Waterman has applied to serve on the Planning Commission for the last four years and "has long roots in the community," he said.

The Assembly interviewed three candidates for an opening on the city's Docks and Harbors Board, but didn't make an appointment. The three names will be forwarded for further consideration, Wheeler said.

The Docks and Harbors Board applicants are former Assembly member Don Etheridge, marine engineer Wayne Wilson, and Cruise Line Agencies of Alaska port manager Andrew Green. The term ends June 30, 2003.

In other action, the Assembly appointed Sandy Boyce to the Eaglecrest Ski Area board of directors.

Joanna Markell can be reached at

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us