Juneau students attend all-state music festival

Akstin, Goese-Goble earn first-chair awards

Posted: Wednesday, December 10, 2003

Juneau-Douglas High School musicians Anja Akstin and Alex Goese-Goble won first-chair awards for the honor band at the 2003 All-State Music Festival held Nov. 20-22 in Fairbanks.

Akstin led the tuba section and Goese-Goble was the top baritone saxophone player at the festival, which featured two days of rehearsal and culminated with band, orchestra, mixed choir and treble choir performances on Nov. 22 at Lathrop High School's Herring Auditorium.

Also earning first-chair awards from Southeast were trombone player Agatha Erickson of Hoonah in the band and bass II singer Chris Haggard of Wrangell in the mixed choir. More than 300 students earned trips to all-state, but just 34 musicians won first-chair awards in the four music groups.

Students had to submit audition tapes in by Oct. 1 and selections were made on Oct. 15. Each musician had to record a set of scales, an étude or two from the intrument's repertoire and an excerpt from a solo piece for the audition.

Audition tapes were screened by a panel of music teachers and the groups were led by guest conductors from the Lower 48 - David Christy of Durant, Okla., for the band; James Kjelland of Evanston, Ill., for the orchestra; and Kirk Marcy for the mixed choir and Laurie Cappello for the treble choir, both from Bothell, Wash.

JDHS had five students earn spots in the all-state orchestra - double bass player Abe Levy and second violinists Megan Bush, Ren DeCherney, Taylor Hubbard and Kelsey Preecs. Sitka's Kera Newman and Lauren Wild made the orchestra as first violinists, while Jonathon Kreiss-Tomkins made it as a bass cellist.

The band featured five JDHS musicians - Cayleigh Allen on flute, Bryan Diebels on alto saxophone, Goese-Goble on baritone sax, Tim Peterson on trombone and Akstin on tuba. Others making the band from Southeast were Julia Hamilton of Ketchikan on clarinet and Erickson of Hoonah on trombone, while Sitka's Clea Will was an alternate for the tuba section.

Four JDHS girls made the treble choir (for female voices) - Shannon Dore as a soprano I, Elena Ruddy as a soprano II, Laura Heumann as an alto I and Natalie Hale as an alto II. Other Southeast students in the treble choir were Ketchikan's Shannon Charlton as a soprano I; Wrangell's Addie Florschutz, Ketchikan's Janene Mickel and Petersburg's Gillian Severson as soprano II's; Haines' Kaitlin Podski and Ketchikan's Laurie Soderstrom as alto I's; and Wrangell's Dara Rilatos as an alto II.

Two Juneau students qualified for the mixed choir (for male and female voices) - Lindsay Perkins at alto I and Justin McCown at tenor II. Other singers in the mixed choir from Southeast were Wrangell's Sarah Helgeson and Ketchikan's Calli Olmstead at alto I, Petersburg's Dave Evens at tenor I, Haines' Lucas Dawson and Ketchikan's Flint Allred at tenor II, Ketchikan's Benjamin Edwards at bass I and Haggard at bass II.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us