Thank you

Posted: Friday, December 10, 2004

... from Elk's Lodge 420

The Juneau Elk's Lodge 420 wishes to extend congratulations and thank you to all the participants and helpers of the 2004 Elks National Hoop Shoot held last week. Local winners were Kayla Balovich, Hannah Swafford, Rachel Donohoe, Tyler Troudt, Jonathan Tran, Ben Weyhrauch. Thank you for giving it your best "shot" and good luck with your scores at State.

Of course this competition could not have taken place without the dedication and time expended by our wonderful physical education teacher here in Juneau. Than you Ethyl Smith, David Haas, Valerie Bue, Carol Fujioka, Suzie Denton, Mr. K at Auke Bay, Mr. Jones at Dzantik'i Heeni, and Alberta Jones at Dzantik'i. All of these teachers ran the preliminaries flawlessly in their school and inspired their kids to do the best of their abilities. Special thanks to Alberta for her time in organizing the facilities and awards. Thank you also Dzantik'i Heeni for letting us use your bleachers.

Lastly I would like to thank our trusted and dependable Elk members who help in the finals every year. Past President Mark Johnson, current President Marty Neff, Marc Crusant, Gary Durling, Bud Ivey, Christopher Clark, Tom Gill, and our dedicated, hard-working office manager Lisa Baker.

Thank you all very much and have a wonderful holiday season.

John Pastorino

Past president

Juneau Elks Lodge 420

Mother Lodge of Alaska

... from Flying Lions Club

The Mendenhall Flying Lions Club completed their Ninth Annual Diabetes Barbecue and Auction on Nov. 6, 2004. The event raised a record $9,300 for the local chapter of American Diabetes Association, and has raised in excess of $53,000 over the past nine years.

We would like to send a big thank you to all of the generous people who showed up to participate in either the barbecue or the auction. G. W. Teal allowed us to use its premises again and without its support this event would not be possible. "Pappy" Poe again donated his time and expertise to cook the ribs, and for the first time we ran out of 240 pounds of ribs before 5 p.m.

The following businesses and individuals donated to the event and we would like to say thank you, your support makes it possible: Super Bear Supermarket, ABATE, Alaska Airlines, Alaskan Brewing, Alaska Distributors, Alaska Industrial Hardware, Allen Marine, Neil Atkinson, Baranof Hotel, The Broiler, Cameron Plumbing, Capitol Office Supply, Channel Construction, Checkmate Coin and Loan, Coastal Helicopter, The Copy Works, Costco, DocWaters Pub, Duck Creek Market, A Fish on Charters, Tom Morgan, Glacier Muffler, Glacier Restaurant, Goldbelt/Mount Roberts Tramway, Gottschalks, Gourmet Alaska, Harri's Marine, Hearthside Books, Honda Hut, Bob and Donna Hurley, Jack's Plumbing, The Jewel Box, K & L Distributors, Gary Kotlarsz, Larry Hooten, Mal Linthwaite, Martha's Flowers, The Moose Lodge, NAPA, Northern Hot Spots, Ellen Northup, Nugget Alaskan Outfitter, Odom Corp., Jim O'Donnell, Parts Plus Auto, Play It Again Sports, Justin Poe, Prospector Hotel, Pt. Sophia Lodge, Quiet Time, Radio Shack, Rick Pruitt, RM Roofing, Ron's Apothecary, Southeast Panhandlers MC, Snap On Tools, Joe Sonneman, Southeast Artworks, Taku Harley Davidson, Taku Lodge, Task Limo, Teddy's Tasty Meats, Temsco Helicopters, Three Eagle Charters, Tim's Woodworking, Traci Gilmore, Triangle Bar, University of Alaska Southeast, Valley Lumber, Ward Air, Western Auto Marine, Mr. & Mrs. John Weedman, Bruce Wing, Wings of Alaska.

Mendenhall Flying Lions Club


... for Girl Scout Training

On Nov. 10-13, Girl Scout leaders and other volunteers, Senior Girl Scouts from throughout Southeast Alaska, and members of the Board of Directors gathered for "Train and Sustain," the annual training conference of the Tongass Alaska Girl Scout Council (TAGSC). This year's conference was supported by two grants from the Girl Scouts of the USA (GSUSA). The "Train and Sustain" grant is part of GSUSA's "Girl Scouts in Rural Communities" program, which is funded by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. TAGSC's Train and Sustain program was recently featured in GSUSA's publication, "Taking the Lead," which highlights 10 councils nationwide recognized for their "best practices" in Girl Scout programs. The conference was also supported by TAGSC's "Step Ahead" grant, which is funded by the U.S. Department of Justice through GSUSA's "Girls Beyond Bars" program.

Many people contributed to the success of the weekend and deserve public recognition of their efforts.

First, I want to thank the wonderful TAGSC staff - Kathy Buss, Rosemary Williams, Teresa Newton, Cassie Lutz, Brianne Gates, and Chief Executive Officer Fran Compton, who had only a few days to adjust to her brand-new job before the meetings started. Kathy and Rosemary shared their enthusiasm for the Girl Scout program and their expertise; Cassie captured special moments during the conference with her camera, and Teresa handled registrations, money, and many other details.

Thanks are also due to Suzie Gaffney of the Association of Alaska School Boards and Lenise Henderson of Haines, whose workshops were not only educational and thought-provoking, but also fun.

Debbie Germain, Andy Peterson, Troop #39, Anna Branch, and Troop #8 all contributed to the conference and annual meeting. Jan Caulfield and Roseanne Funk served as facilitators. Brenda Dick of Sitka led a workshop on paper crafting. Thanks to you all. Troop #43 families made table decorations and did a great job serving as greeters at the auction. Troop #43 is a part of the council's "Step Ahead" program.

The workshop "Leading Girls to a Healthy Future" was organized by Jetta Whittaker, with the help of Judy Neary, Kate Slotnick, and Chrystal Smith. Sharing their perspectives on issues of health and nutrition, body image, and exercise were Dr. Janice Sheufelt, Dr. Elaine Schroeder, Nancy Duhaime, and Fran Polumsky. Andy Peterson tied it all together with links to Girl Scout programs. Becca Smith helped cook a healthy lunch for workshop participants. Many thanks.

Last but not least, thanks to the wonderful planning committee, without whom none of the weekend's events would have happened. Dawn Wolfe, Michele Glasheen, Bev Lopez of Petersburg, Tina Furuness, Margaret Pugh, Mary Siroky, Candy Brower, Susan Cox, Gail Ford, Rosemary Williams, Kathy Buss, Anna Branch, and Fran Compton helped in so many ways it is impossible to list them. Kari Bartness. Maggie Stumme, and Becca Smith pitched in to bring the auction together. All deserve a round of applause.

TAGSC provides Girl Scout programming to girls from 5 to 17 throughout Southeast Alaska. For more information, call the council office at 907-586-1710 or 800-478-8247.

Chrystal Smith

Chair, Training Weekend Planning Committee

Member, Board of Directors

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us