Posted: Wednesday, December 13, 2006

The Boys and Girls Club of Juneau took first place for visual arts in the 3-through-6 age category in the 15th Annual Intergenerational Arts Contest, a statewide contest sponsored by the Older Persons Action Group.

Sound off on the important issues at

Participating artists for the Boys and Girls Club included Sophia Gore, Justin White, Cassie Fiddler, Harris Graves and Laela Kegler, with teacher Jeanette Lackey.

In the over-50 age group, Elizabeth Cuadra won first prizes in the prose and poetry categories, and a third prize in poetry. Each first prize came with a check for $100.

This year's theme was "elders and youth sharing time and traditions." Contest categories included visual and literary arts. Information about next year's contest, including submission guidelines and entry forms, can be obtained from Deanne Young at


The University of Alaska Southeast Automotive Technology program is the Alaska winner, and National runner-up, for the Automotive Industry Planning Council Award of Excellence for post-secondary programs. UAS Automotive Technology department head Tony Martin accepted the award on Nov. 29 at the Association for Career and Technical Education Convention in Atlanta, Ga.

The UAS Automotive Technology program was awarded two vehicles in recognition of its achievement: a 2005 Dodge Magnum R/T and a 2006 Honda Accord. The value of the vehicles is more than $60,000. The new cars will provide state of the art technology for helping to train students.


Andrea Scharen, a sixth-grader from Floyd Dryden Middle School, and Ky Clark, a 10th-grade high school student, have been selected as the winners of the 2006/07 Hilary Lindh Season Pass Scholarships.

Scharen, an "A" honor roll student, stated, "I would like to get better at skiing and someday try to get on the ski team."

Clark, who is close to receiving his Eagle Scout certification, said, "For several years I have desperately wanted a season's pass!"

The selection committee reviews applications and selects the recipients based on academic achievement, competitive spirit and financial need. These winners exemplify all of these criteria.


Aiding Women in Abuse and Rape Emergencies Inc., is proud to announce the 2007 Women of Distinction. Joyanne Bloom, Dolores Cadiente, Ann Lockhart and Connie Munroe were chosen based on their dedication and relentless service to peace, justice and the empowerment of women. Their accomplishments will be honored by AWARE and the community on March 10 at Centennial Hall, with a catered dinner, silent auction and speeches by each of the women. Proceeds will benefit AWARE's domestic violence and sexual assault prevention and intervention services. For more information, call 586-6623.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us