Local Scoreboard: Fastbreak Tourney

Posted: Thursday, December 14, 2000

Here are the results from the Fastbreak Tournament, a middle school basketball tournament Dec. 7-9 held at both Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School and Floyd Dryden Middle School.

Boys' A bracket

Championship game -- Schoenbar 43, Floyd Dryden 35.

Semifinals -- Schoenbar over Juneau Christian School; Floyd Dryden over Dzantik'i Heeni (scores not available).

Top-three teams -- 1. Schoenbar (Ketchikan); 2. Floyd Dryden; 3. Dzantik'i Heeni.

Sportsmanship award -- Dzantik'i Heeni.

MVP -- Jessie LeBeau, Schoenbar.

Best defense -- Casey Bass, Schoenbar.

Most hustle -- Matt Kern, Floyd Dryden.

All-tournament team -- Josh Lumbab, Floyd Dryden; Tyler Richardson, Schoenbar; Kyle Huntsman, Floyd Dryden; Nolan Lisle, Dzantik'i Heeni; Tommy Derbesy, Juneau Christian; Jessie LeBeau, Schoenbar; Aaron Baumann, Dzantik'i Heeni; Casey Bass, Schoenbar; Danny Hernandez, Floyd Dryden; Ryan Hart, Juneau Christian.

Girls' A bracket

Championship game -- Dzantik'i Heeni 38, Schoenbar 23.

Semifinals -- not available.

Top-three teams -- 1. Dzantik'i Heeni; 2. Schoenbar (Ketchikan); 3. Floyd Dryden.

Sportsmanship -- Schoenbar.

MVP -- Ashley Larson, Dzantik'i Heeni.

Best defense -- Raquel Pahang, Schoenbar.

Most hustle -- Talisa Rhea, Dzantik'i Heeni.

All-tournament team -- Mary Rehfeld, Dzantik'i Heeni; Ashley Larson, Dzantik'i Heeni; Raquel Pahang, Schoenbar; Christianne Mae Carrillo, Floyd Dryden; Jordan Johnston, Floyd Dryden; Torie Edwardson, Schoenbar; Biance Carpenetti, Dzantik'i Heeni; Destiny Bell, Schoenbar; Talisa Rhea, Dzantik'i Heeni.

Boys' B bracket

Championship game -- Craig 67, Skagway 52.

Semifinals -- Craig over Angoon; Skagway over Schoenbar (no scores available).

Top-three teams -- 1. Craig; 2. Skagway; 3. Angoon.

Sportsmanship -- Haines.

MVP -- Eric Hamilton, Craig.

Best defense -- Jordan Jamestown, Angoon.

Most hustle -- Jeremy Kilburn, Skagway.

All-tournament team -- Josh Monagle, Dzantik'i Heeni; Eric Hamilton, Craig; Jordan Jamestown, Angoon; Jordan Kasler, Skagway; Torin Smith, Hoonah; Cody Heppner, Floyd Dryden; Scott Lesh, Skagway; Nick Jones, Craig; Jared Fudj, Schoenbar; Adam Johnson, Yakutat.

Girls' B bracket

Championship game -- Floyd Dryden 36, Haines 24.

Semifinals -- Haines over Schoenbar; Floyd Dryden over Skagway (no scores available).

Top-three teams -- 1. Floyd Dryden; 2. Haines; 3. Schoenbar.

Sportsmanship -- Angoon.

MVP -- Jessie Post, Floyd Dryden.

Best defense -- Dana Lyon, Floyd Dryden.

Most hustle -- Ivanka Jones, Haines.

All-tournament team -- Kerstin Kimlinger, Floyd Dryden; Savannah Ames, Skagway; Gina Aurelis, Schoenbar; Jill May, Craig; Amber Lampe, Hoonah; Jessie Post, Floyd Dryden; Ivanka Jones, Haines; Megan Bush, Dzantik'i Heeni; Drew Fossman, Haines; Jessica Williams, Angoon.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-523-2295
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback