2011 Katchemak Bay Writers Conference registration now open

Posted: Thursday, December 16, 2010

Registration is now open for the 2011 Kachemak Bay Writers' Conference to be held June 10-14 at Lands End Resort in Homer. This year's keynote presenter will be Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and former U.S. Poet Laureate Rita Dove.

The conference will feature 18 other award-winning, nationally-recognized authors, editors and agents who will conduct creative writing workshops, readings, craft talks and panel presentations in fiction, nonfiction, children's writing, poetry and the business of writing. Optional activities include manuscript reviews, editor-agent consultations, receptions, a boat cruise and open mic.

The evening public readings June 11-13 by visiting writers will be open to the general public at no charge. A special two-day post-conference workshop will be held at Kachemak Bay Wilderness Lodge.

Noted conference faculty will be Nickole Brown, Mike Burwell, Chris Calhoun, Richard Chiappone, Anne Coray, Rigoberto Gonzalez, LeAnne Howe, Heather Lende, Nancy Lord, Elizabeth Lyon, Brenda Miller, Donna Jo Napoli, Matt Roesch, Eva Saulitis, Peggy Shumaker, Sherry Simpson, Frank Soos and Hannah Tinti.

The early registration fee is $340, space available. There is a special UA admitted student rate as well.

Major conference benefactors include Alaska Humanities Forum, Alaska State Council on the Arts, First National Bank Alaska, Era Aviation, Kachemak Bay Campus-Kenai Peninsula College, Lands End Resort, University of Alaska Academic Affairs, UAA Alaska Airlines, Grant Aviation and many individual donors.

Advanced registration is required. For program and registration information visit writersconference.homer.alaska.edu.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us