Posted: Sunday, December 19, 2010

Danielle Beaudry-Beckstrom was elected as Vice President of the Legislation for the American Massage Therapy Association - Alaska Chapter. Beaudry-Beckstrom is a nationally certified massage therapy practitioner. She took her oath of office on Oct. 8 and is currently working with a committee to establish regulations for licensing massage therapists in Alaska.


Gail Dabaluz has completed the required coursework to receive her master of arts degree from the University of Alaska Fairbanks Department of Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development program, graduating Magna Cum Laude. Her thesis focus is the cultural significance of the 14(h)(1) historic sites of Southeast Alaska. Dabaluz is a member of the Golden Key International Honor Society recognized for outstanding academic achievement. While attending school, Dabaluz has been employed full-time with the State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development in the Division of Community and Regional Affairs as a local government specialist in the Director's Office. She intends to pursue a doctorate degree.

Her parents are James Young Jr., originally from Hydaburg, and Geraldine (Brown) Williams of Juneau. Her grandparents are the late Judson and Selina Brown.

Gail, her husband Leroy and two children Ke'alalakina, 19, and Pietr, 4, continue to make Juneau their home.


U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, and U.S. Sen. Mark Begich nominated Alaska's best and brightest young people for appointment and admission to the U.S. military service academies for the year 2011.

"Each year we receive many appointment requests from outstanding and talented Alaska students. It is always unfortunate that there are never enough openings to accommodate all of the nominees who have the makings of successful service men and women," Murkowski said. "These accomplished candidates have already shown excellent leadership qualities and strength of character. It is a privilege to nominate these Alaskans to the four service academies that require Congressional nominations."

"It is an honor to assist these young Alaskans as they aspire to serve our county," Begich said. "Each of these individuals deserves our respect and support as they answer a call to serve. I know they will each bring great pride to Alaska, their families and friends."

Senators are allowed to nominate up to ten individuals for each of the service academies including the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, U.S. Military Academy at West Point, and U.S Naval Academy. The admissions office for each academy makes the final determination based on academic and physical qualifications as well as available space at each.

Nominees were selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities and potential for leadership.

Forrest Wilcox of Juneau was nominated for admission to the U. S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo. Blake Hamilton of Haines and Rio Kadake of Kake were nominated for admission to the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us