ALL ACCESS MEMBERSHIP

JOIN NOW ACTIVATE SIGN IN
  • Overcast, light rain
  • 52°
    Overcast, light rain

Opinion

Editorials

Empire Editorial: Bennett's visit reason for cautious optimism

It's no secret that when it comes to the topic of transboundary mining issues, the opinion pages of the Juneau Empire have flowed one direction.

My Turn: Sullivan: President must experience 'real' Alaska through its people

Alaska has benefited from many Presidential visits, and it's always good to have the national spotlight shine on us.

by SEN. DAN SULLIVAN

My Turn: Murkowski: President's Alaska goal should be partnership

As Alaskans, we take great pride in welcoming visitors to our beautiful state. That is especially true when our guest is the President of the United States.

by Sen. Lisa Murkowski

Thursday, Aug 27, 2015

My Turn: Rural energy solutions an opportunity for US Arctic leadership

Energy underpins the health, economic vitality and overall sustainability of communities and has been identified as a focus area and priority during the U.S. leadership of the Arctic Council.
By MEERA KHOLER and GWEN HOLDMANN

My Turn: Obama's visit to the arctic

In less than a week, President Barack Obama and a massive team of White House officials will touch down at Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson for their first official visit to Alaska and the U.S. Arctic.
By CONGRESSMAN DON YOUNG

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2015

My Turn: Are you ready for back to school?

The days are getting shorter and summer activities are winding down. School supply lists are appearing in stores and your inboxes. Kids are (hopefully) finishing their summer reading lists.
By SUSAN JOHNSON FOR THE JUNEAU EMPIRE

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2015

Alaska Editorial: Fighting the fires

The following editorial first appeared in the Ketchikan Daily News: Fire season is bad enough in Alaska and the West that Washington, D.C., must act when it comes to forest management.

My Turn: A cautionary 'tail'

I, and a number of other interested Montanans, have been following the proposals for a large number of mines in the British Columbia portions of the Taku, Stikine and Unuk River watersheds.
By JACK A. STANFORD

My Turn: A case for Climate Change investment

The Mendenhall Glacier near Juneau is an icon of the capital city. Photos of “the glacier” as it’s locally known, appear on brochures for Alaska Airlines and the local visitors bureau and as a ...
By JOHN NEARY

Monday, Aug 24, 2015

My Turn: Sailing Arctic Seas in the Oval Office

With a friendly "Hi, everybody," President Barack Obama kicks off his video invitation to his upcoming, late August trip to Alaska.
By KEVIN HARUN

Empire Editorial: Thumbs up, thumbs down for Aug. 24, 2015

The events of the past week in Sitka have given us many opportunities to offer thumbs up and thumbs down. There's an obvious thumbs down to the loss of friends and family.

My Turn: Make test standards neither too soft or too hard

In the classic children's nursery story "Goldilocks and the Three Bears," a little girl finds a house in the forest where three bears live: Papa Bear, Mama Bear and Baby Bear.
By DAVID NEES

Sunday, Aug 23, 2015

My Turn: The Alaska Constitution is worth defending

I met an Alaskan today who turned 65 this year.
By SUZANNE DOWNING

Gov. Walker: Alaska needs to collaborate, not litigate, on Medicaid expansion

This past week has been a tough one for Alaskans. On Tuesday, we learned that heavy rainfall had triggered six landslides in Sitka, and three men - beloved residents - were missing. The next ...
By GOV. BILL WALKER

Friday, Aug 21, 2015

My Turn: Costly lawsuit a bad investment

The Legislative Council voted 10-1 Tuesday to fund a lawsuit against Gov. Bill Walker. The purpose of the lawsuit is to challenge his authority to expand Medicaid.
By REP. SAM KITO III

My Turn: The borderline personality of Alaska's GOP

It wasn't surprising that the Legislative Council voted to sue Gov. Bill Walker over his decision to expand Medicaid. Anyone who read the July 30 Anchorage Dispatch News opinion pages should have ...
By Rich Moniak

Thursday, Aug 20, 2015

My Turn: Taking a stand for a balanced government

Today, the Alaska Legislative Council, acting on behalf of the legislative branch, voted to file an injunction against Gov. Bill Walker for his attempt to expand Medicaid without authorization.
By SEN. KEVIN MEYER and REP. MIKE CHENAULT

My Turn: Don't be snookered, ther'es no 'free ride'

Fear can set you up and be a cause of really bad decisions. We face inevitable economic change even with our state's savings set aside for this very crisis. An increasing number of Alaskans (the ...
By REP. WES KELLER

Empire Editorial: Alaska needs legislation, not lawsuits, on Medicaid expansion

On Tuesday, the Legislative Council, a special panel of the Alaska Legislature, voted 10-1 to spend $450,000 on a lawsuit against Gov. Bill Walker. There are few words to express our disappointment.

Letters to the Editor

Articles from the Letters section archive

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2015

Letter: Let Medicaid expansion come to a vote

Political differences shouldn't create a political stalemate. The decision to spend $450,000 on law firms, to block the millions in state budget savings we'd get from Medicaid expansion, unwisely ...

Letter: Every vote counts

On Aug. 21, 2015, I attended my first naturalization ceremony at the Robert Boochever Federal Courthouse in Juneau.

Letter: Protect our waters, home

I grew up in Juneau as a third-generation Alaskan, and have returned to begin a career in my beloved hometown.

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2015

Letter: Thank you Sam DeGrave

I write from a community with a heavy heart. I also write from a father's perspective whose own two sons have a heavy heart as these fabulous Diaz brothers were close, close friends, to include ...
By Keith Perkins

Ground rules

JuneauEmpire.com aims to foster constructive, respectful civic conversation. To do this well, we need your help.

You can help by modeling good behavior -- by posting comments that are thoughtful, constructive and interesting -- and avoiding temptation to engage in personal abuse, name-calling and juvenile behavior.

You also can help by reporting abuses when you see them. If you're a registered user and you're logged in, you'll see a link to do so on every comment.

Find out more about forums, commenting, and blogging.

CONTACT US

  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING